We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more hot tub or steam room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #58 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No more hot tub or steam room”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I used to stay here frequently, but wanted to report that they have now eliminated their hot tub and steam room. This was a major draw for me and may be for you. They still have an indoor pool and work out room and the concierge level is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travguru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Chicago Hotel. We appreciate your time in providing feedback and are delighted you enjoyed the concierge lounge. Unfortunately the hot tub and steam room have been removed. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in the windy city. Live well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    600
    159
    49
    25
See reviews for
333
391
80
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Chicao Hotel and the service was excellent. Hotel and rooms extremely clean. Hotel has a fantastic bar on property, The Bar Novo. Bartenders and staff are a lot of fun. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawleygirl813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Bar Novo is definitely the place to be! The bartenders know how to create a great atmosphere, and of course the perfect beverage. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

While a lifelong resident of the area we decided to take a weekend downtown. We could have stayed on Michigan Avenue, however we decided to stay closer to Millenium Park-
This hotel was clean, the beds were top notch, the view was spectacular, coffee and danish in the morning and even though the immediate area was not A++, if you walked a 1/2 block you were golden.
Will stay again--

Room Tip: higher floors were best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northbrook L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We can’t wait to welcome you back for another stay! It’s always nice to be able to spend a weekend downtown. Millennium Park is just one of the many things within walking distance of the Renaissance Chicago. Were you able to visit any of the other parks or try any new local restaurants? Thank you and live well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Really enjoyed my stay in the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helped out whenever I needed it. I found that the hotel was in a very safe neighborhood and it was right on the river. It was easy walking distance from most things I wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakegop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are delighted we were able to assist you with all your needs during your stay! We hope we were also able to help you discover something wonderfully new. Join us again soon in the windy city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip. Ask for a river view, which we did. Most amazing view ever. However, staff can't tell you how to get back on the subway if you are out and don't know which stop to take...called them 3 times and they were more confused than I was...other than that a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Brian – Thank you for your time in reviewing the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel. We apologize for the confusion in directions back to our hotel. We have shared this information with appropriate team members so we can ensure it does not happen again. We are delighted you enjoyed the view and we look forward to your next visit to Chicago! Live well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Was here two nights for business. I did not get a special feeling about the hotel. It does not have much identity. People at reception not really personal, average American friendly. Room is ok, but more like the same, had problems to get the right business connection, was struggling with airco, swimming pool is very average and was not so clean. Once in a lifetime visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marnix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Marnix – We appreciate the time you spent in reviewing our hotel. We are disappointed to learn the stay did not meet your expectations. We know how frustrating it can be to have trouble with the internet when you are trying to work. If this should happen again, please allow us to connect you with our guest internet support team in order to correct the issue. We have also shared your comments about our rejuvenation center pool with our team. We hope you will allow us another chance to surprise and delight you at our hotel. Thank you and live well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Great view of the river from the 20th floor right next to Trump Tower and The Langham for much less. Service was very good and the breakfast buffet had a wide variety. Would definitely recommend for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLBFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
The breakfast buffet certainly has some delightful savory treats to suite everyone’s tastes. We are glad you enjoyed! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Live well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 190 in Chicago
1,468 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,700 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing