We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed here on business for only one night, but had no problems at all and got a good night's sleep. The location is close to the "L" and across the street from the Chicago River. The bed, pillows and towels were plush, the room was clean. You're supposed to pay for internet access, but it never got added to my bill. I had no complaints, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    574
    155
    47
    25
See reviews for
313
372
80
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

It's a very nice hotel, BUT: I stayed on the club level, my room was on the opposite side from the elevator. In other words, the elevators mechanisms were right behind the t.v. on the far wall away from the bed. All day and night, there was substantial elevator noise. Fortunately, I brought ear plugs with me and that was sufficient to drown out the elevator. But the fact that this noise exists is unacceptable and points to a design flaw in the hotel. I surely couldn' t be the first person to notice this, and they should only give these rooms to guests after warning them about the noise and offering a discount. If I had been staying more than one night, I would have asked to switch rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I have stayed at this property several times, unfortunately we did not have a pleasant stay this time. The location is great! Shopping, Dining, the Art Institute, Millennium Park, Opera and Theatre all within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable, most with nice city or river views. Linens do seem to be getting a bit worn & no minibar.

First impressions really do mean a lot. Upon check in, I reminded the clerk my husband is a Gold Elite member and asked if the upgrade to the Club Floor was available. She said yes but the club is closed on the weekend. I replied, “Typically when the club is closed…” She interrupted me midsentence and flatly said “we do give vouchers for breakfast.” As she handed me our room keys I confirmed again the room upgrade.

As I was entering the room I noticed dirty dishes outside of the room. We enjoyed the lovely view of dirty dishes for most of our stay since they were not removed until around 12n the following day. Typically this would not have bothered me but after the course treatment at the front desk, the tone was set for our entire stay.

When the bellman brought our luggage to the room he asked if I was happy with the room. I flatly told him no. The clerk at the front desk was unaccommodating and this is not a club floor or upgraded room. He apologized and said he would notify the manager. Around a half hour later we received call from the front desk. They did offer to move us to a club floor room (really? Didn’t I already confirm said room twice?) I declined since we had already unpacked and had to leave shortly for dinner and the Opera. She said they would be crediting our Marriott account 500 points for the inconvenience. Wow, thanks. That’s a value of about 50 cents.

Last summer we stayed at the Marriott on Michigan Ave. We had almost a similar experience with their front desk. In December we stayed at the Conrad Hilton and found the front desk to be more than accommodating for our entire stay. At this point we feel as though Marriott does not value their loyal customers or travel agent partners. For our upcoming trip to Florida, I cancelled our reservation at Marriott Sanibel and booked a Starwood property.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teriw1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Pros: Good location (not great), service calls/questions were immediately addressed, free hot drinks in the lobby on a daily basis, nice pool, very close to the eL trains

Cons: Room was not ready when we arrived (arrived right at check-in time) and we had to wait 45 minutes at the hotel's bar, room was not clean as we found dirty socks, etc. on the floor, bedding & pillows were inadequate

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheersTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed here with my wife and 3yr old daughter for 1 week over the Christmas Holidays. Very comfortable and great location, 2mins walk from Macey's and Sear's which are in tuen only across the street from each other, The Magnificient Mile is only 10mins walk.. Make sure you eat in the 'Kerryman' Irish Pub too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dauphin_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
752 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Excellent location, quality service. Great place to stay for a weekend getaway. Don't drive down however - parking is $50/day. Great breakfast buffet but not cheap. Location couldn't be better, particularly if you want to take the CTA anywhere. Quite hotel. Usual Marriott attention. Only drawback was that you would expect a chain in Chicago to have HD TV which they don't. If you want to spend the bucks (I didn't), the rooms overlooking the river have very nice views.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,257 reviews
427 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a holiday weekend in Chicago and really enjoyed it. The hotel's location is superb -- right in the middle of downtown, with easy access to both the "Miracle Mike" and all of the stuff on State Street. It's also within a block of the El and the below-ground subway. So, a truly easy way to access all parts of the city.

The room was very nice and well-appointed. Spacious bathroom, decent working area, nice sitting chair, extremely comfortable bed! The room was quiet even though the hotel seemed busy. The decor in the room was pleasant; the bathroom wasn't my personal style (green marble basin, etc.) but was in good condition.

I enjoyed the hotel's public spaces. Clean, spacious hallways; a big lobby with just the right amount of people. Everything was beautifully and tastefully decorated for the holidays.

With the exception of one crabby bellman who helped us store bags on the final day, service was excellent. At check-in, we requested a room with a view of the Chicago River. Even though we were staying on Marriott Rewards points, the agent worked to make this happen and was extremely gracious about it -- definitely appreciated! The Concierge was very helpful about finding a place for us to grab something to eat after an extremely late arrival. When we ran into a glitch with our keys not working on the lock during the final morning of the stay, security was quickly dispatched to the floor and the hotel apologized for the quick service glitch -- I really appreciate a hotel that acknowledges, and then quickly fixes, a problem. Service at the entrance was always superb -- the gentlemen who hailed us cabs were all very friendly, and when one of them saw me returning to the hotel with my hands full with coffee cups, he even rotated the revolving door for me.

Overall, this hotel did a great job -- would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing