We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #66 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A fine hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights for a work conference, and I generally agree with most posts on the website. Quick summary of the experience below....

Location - I'd rate as very good. River view was nice. Decent walk to most interesting Chicago sights, restaurants, etc.

Lobby - nicely appointed, handled the multitude of conference attendees wandering around quite fine. Lobby bar was decent, with a nice view of the river.

Room - very standard. I found the bed a little too firm, and I like firmer beds. The bathroom was very tired and beaten. I was surprised at low quality amenities & towels found in the bathroom for a decent Sheraton hotel. Noise level from the street and between rooms was non-existant, but from the hallway was noticeable due to thin doors. Found popcorn on the carpet when I checked in, not a huge deal but makes me question the quality of the cleaning staff.

Other - staff was generally friendly

Would I stay again? For work...likely. For personal...likely not, unless on sale!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    1,422
    646
    259
    140
See reviews for
991
930
184
2,059
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location cannot be faulted - right on the river, great views, a nice short walk to Navy Pier and close to shopping. We stayed with my brother's family in two adjoining rooms with a shared living area (including a dining table and lounge setting) which is highly recommended if you are doing the same. The rooms were very nice - great beds and amenities.

We upgraded to access the club facilities with breakfast and supper provided as well as access to internet and printers.

Service was friendly and very attentive. I would recommend the Sheraton highly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrevorV255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Here for a few days this week attending a trade conference.

My room was a bit tired (decor), but clean, well-equippied (TV etc), and just fine for the hectic days I had.

Very nice bunch of people who work there, nothing too much trouble.

Would go back, but if I was to return with my family I would probably have a look around for less corporate hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist not getting a 'rooms adjoining' room. noise travels through them. Brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moogyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

When we arrived, I promptly asked for a renovated room after reading the reviews here. Aiyetoro at the desk was happy to make that happen AND made certain we had a smashing river view. Thanks, Aiyetoro!! While the room was not large, it was really attractive and modern. The bathroom was spotless, however it did not feature a curved shower curtain bar (which I have come to expect at better places) The ipod dock did not work. The sign in the lobby reading "Alternative School Prom" was not a welcome sight. That being said, the students were respectful and looked really happy. You simply cannot beat the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. The river view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy61356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Sheraton for a conference my husband was attending. The hotel is located on the river between the lake and the Miracle Mile. The location is a great starting point to shop and sightsee. The hotel itself is clean and the staff was friendly. Our room was average with the bare essentials. It was a decent size, but there were no perks. Basic shampoo, conditioner and soap. No bathrobes or even cotton balls.
The staff was very helpful. They provided directions and even a pass to skip the line at a local Chicago style pizza place. (BTW, ordering a pizza from Malnati's or Gino's is cheaper than room service and they deliver. Concierge will give you a list of who delivers.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMaMainthe858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had to spend 4 days at Sheraton Towers and it was a pleasant experience. Room was standard hotel fare with amazing view. The bed was firm and exactly the way I like. Despite being close to the elevators I never heard them during the night. I upgraded to club floor as it works well with business travel. Free breakfast is on the same floor and there are printers available 24/7. The breakfast was fine (cereal, muffins, bagels,fresh cut fruit) and the ability to go in shorts before shaving and showering and actually wake up is worth the extra money for me. The afternoon hor d'ouerves where OK, although I usually had dinner plans. the ability to go into the lounge and get a cold water, soda or hot coffee 24/7 is great. The hotel is massive but I never had to wait to get an elevator to the tower floors.
My only complaint was the internet service. It was spotty in the room. I could not download videos and large files and websites would sometime take forever to open. The gym was small but I usually found at least one bike or elliptical free when I went.
Staff was pleasant. There are inexpensive places to eat reasonably with a 2 block radius.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south on the upper levels look out on modern high rises on river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmbfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Sheraton. We love it. The location is fantastic - very close to Navy Pier, "The Magnificent Mile", and many good restaurants. This time we also walked to Millennium Park which is relatively close. Our room was very nice, clean, and quiet. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OV73STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#61 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#83 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing