We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I went to a business conference at the hotel and had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and courteous. I was also surprised at the room accommodations! The next time I'm in Chicago, I will be staying at Shearton Chicago and Towers.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mechelle R.
Executive Asst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,176 - 2,182 of 5,117 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

* Pros
- Walking distance to Navy Pier and the Magnificent mile.
- Knowledgeable concierges

* Cons
- No Bible in the drawers.
- It's too large. It takes a long walk to get to any room.
- It feels a like a factory.
- Lobby is very noisy and too large. All sort of people hanging around
- Very expensive internet.
- Very expensive breakfast
- You can get a similar hotel for a cheaper price in the nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XYZ n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear XYZ n,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad to hear that our Concierges were helpful. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss your stay at madalyn.ward-freeman@sheraton.com or call 312-464-1000. We would love to host your next visit.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We reserved our hotel online and ran into scheduling issues. We called & spoke with Elvira and she helped us with our stay. She was a pleasure to work with. When we got to the hotel our bedroom was available but the suite wasn't. It came available at 5pm. (We walked around killing time waiting for the phone call to tell us the room was available). When we brought our luggage up in our car we were rushed to get everything out and they did not allow us to take our own luggage- even though we asked. The gentleman out in the drop off area with the whistle was very annoying! Yelling at everyone. Our room was very nice and the views we had were wonderful! We called at 9pm to guest services requesting a refrigerator. We had to call again the next day to request the refrigerator. They did bring it to us- free of charge. I understand everyone is busy, but I would look for another hotel near by first before coming here again. I felt rushed the very moment I pulled up. I was on a weekend getaway and didnt want to be pushed. One thing- do not touch any of the snacks or drinks in your room provided by the hotel- if you pick it up off the tray it will automatically charge you!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Dawnhelmuth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me via email at madalyn.ward-freeman@sheraton.com or via telephone 312-464-1000 to discuss your concerns.. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Madalyn Ward-Freeman
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I always find that the Sheraton brand exceeds expectations in Europe and Asia but it always falls short in America. Unfortunately that was the case at Sheraton Chicago. Staff were friendly, check in was easy but the room was a bit tatty and looked like thousands of people had stayed in that very room before me. The staff in the Executive lounge were very sweet but don't pay the extra money to stay in an Executive room. It really isn't worth it. It was a very average experience and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Tajine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that the staff was friendly and accommodating. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please if you would like to speak with me directly contact me at 312-464-1000. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I think one of the things I love most from this hotel is the view and location on the river. From my room, I had the perfect view down the river looking right at the Trump Tower. It was fun to see all the river tours going up and down the river. The rooms are an average size and the beds are very comfortable. I will warn you that you need to be very careful with the minibar. If you even lift or bump an item they will charge your room...be sure to look over your bill very carefully. I was upgraded to the concierge floor because of my Platinum starwood status. Their lounge is great...amazing views, very large, good selection at breakfast and appetizers (it is probably worth the extra money to upgrade). If you are a runner, the first floor will let you out right beside the river setting you up for an excellent run.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and upgrade to the concierge floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear pgirl42

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was wonderful, very clean. Staff was helpful in recommending restaurants and were able to make reservations for us. I appreciated the offer not to have my room cleaned every day. Very Eco friendly. The hotel is in a great location with many areas of sightseeing in close proximity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Nicole G.

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In town for a family wedding, we stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June. This hotel is beautiful, with a huge bar, big and bustling lobby, and very good customer service. Our room was on the 31st floor with a peekaboo view of Lake Michigan and a wonderful birds' eye view of the Chicago River. Although the 2 queen bed room was not huge, it was fine for two of us. There were plenty of outlets for today's electrical necessities and elevators were close by and came very quickly. When checking in, we deciding to 'buy up' to club level for an extra $40/day. That gave us free wi-fi all over the building instead of just in the lobby as well as continental breakfast in the club lounge (it was really more than a continental breakfast, by the way). In fact, on our first morning we just sat and took in the view, looking straight up the Chicago River and past the multitude of bridges.

Suffice it to say that we loved the location, ambience, service, and décor at the Sheraton. If we can't stay with family on our next visit, we'll be checking in here. Oh, and the beds were supremely comfortable, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear grollett,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,018 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,303 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,202 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £89 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing