We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful concierge, but annoyed by prices of the extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #78 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here for a scientific conference

Location is excellent my room looked over the river- and you are right across from the river walk park- perfect for walking or jogging. Very close to Michigan avenue and shopping , museums- you can easily walk along the Magnificent mile, to Millennium Park, Chicago Art Institute and Navy Pier. I highly recommend the Architectural tour by boat-incredibly well narrated by a lecturer from a college with an MSc in Art History- was a fabulous intro to Chicago.

Rooms are spacious modern and clean and well air conditioned. Was comfortable and quiet.

The concierge was very helpful and friendly- made restaurant and boat tour reservations very efficiently.

Dining- I had a burger outside on their river front patio the first day -very good, but breakfast and particularly room service are overpriced and so is the minibar- I found a good place across the street for breakfast and next to it a good coffee place, as I found the hotel prices over the top even for a big city hotel and besides the burger and one breakfast, I went outside for everything else.

I particularly don't like the amount they charge for internet and that they even charge you 2.25 for making a toll free call- unnecessary and irritating considering the price of the room. I am a Starwood preferred guest and I think that should include internet- there should be some perk and would make me more likely to chose this hotel chai in future.

Conference venue was for the most part ok, but the first day there was very loud disco music in the room next door that drowned out our speakers. the organizers asked several times to get it stopped- the management was not very responsive as it went on all morning, and this loud noise was particularly surprising at a morning session (8 am -noon).

Overall a nice hotel, in a good location, but a bit pricey for a scientific conference.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear TW53,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that the Concierge staff helped make your trip to Chicago a memorable one. The location of our hotel makes it easy to see so many amazing attractions which are conveniently within walking distance. Unfortunately there is a charge for internet in the sleeping rooms, however in our Lobby, Club Lounge and the Link @ Sheraton it can easily be accessed at no charge. Thank you for your loyalty and welcome you back to Chicago in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Mary P.
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 5,180 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I visited the Sheraton Towers for a conference, when I checked in as Sheraton preferred guest I was given a room in the old part of the hotel, the old room looked tired and out of date..this was soon changed at my request. The new room was ok but then the nice thing... I checked out on the normal departing date and was charged an additional night!! After inquiring about this multiple times at the hotel I still have not received any answer..So my suggestion would be, do not go here, just take a hotel around the corner which is probebly cheaper and were you do not get ripped of...

In the conference rooms downstairs there was no wifi available and also you have to pay additional for Wifi in the room ( I had wifi in the room but that did not reach in the entire hotel..)

If I ever get a reply from Sheraton i will keep you updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room in the tower part of the hotel, those are at least a bit nicer then the ols part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_NL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Marcus_NL1234

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize you did not have a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, I am glad to hear that we were able to get you into an upgraded room. We do offer complimentary internet in our Link@Sheraton as well as in our Lobby. If you would like to discuss further please reach out to me at madalyn.ward-freeman@sheraton.com. I look forward in hearing from you.


Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I visited the property during NeoCon exhibition, one of the busiest period in Chicago. Even though the Hotel was pretty full, check-in was fast and efficient and Plat status immediately recognized. Upgraded to a great suite on 31st floor with stunning views over river and lake. Executive Floor on 33 offers continental breakfast with a variety of fruit and croissant and staff is courteous and attentive ( Chinese lady in the morning shift particularly helpful ). Despite the large size of this Sheraton property, attention to details, recognition of SPG elite status, cleanliness and professionalism of the staff are undoubtedly guaranteed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Paolo,

Thank you for your amazing review! It means alot to us that your overall experience with our hotel met your expectations. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the Executive floor with all the amenities that our Platinum guests are accustomed to. We appreciate your loyalty and will be happy to assist you on your next visit to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Mary P.
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not close enough to the "L". They offer no vending machines in the entire hotel but they will gladly charge you $5 for a bottle of water from the mini bar. The view is nice but you can get the same view closer to shopping and the "L" stations and do less walking. All restaurants are over priced for a family. We will make a different choice next time we are in chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rhonda R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.I We do offer vending machines in our hotel in our Valet Parking area. We have the Link@Sheraton and a gift shop within the hotel just to name a few options. If you would like to discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me via email at madalyn.ward-freeman@sheraton.com. I look forward in hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location, great gym and pool, dining options at night limited, the club floor good without being great. The conferece facilities werent brilliant, though that may have been the organisers fault, poor vision to the front screen in many rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deemon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Deemon72

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our Fitness Center along with our indoor pool. We hope your travels will bring you back to the Sheraton in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mary P.
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My daughter had National Junior Volleyball Tournament at Navy Pier so we decided as a family to stay downtown and enjoy the City.

When we checked in the staff was prompt, courteous and upgraded our room to a beautiful view of the Chicago River and the skyline.

Everything was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thanks to all the staff. Very warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Frank M,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our location is conveniently located near Navy Pier making it easy for families to travel at ease during this annual event. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year!

Warm Regards,

Mary P.
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently visited Chicago for business and pleasure. This was my first choice location after staying here 5 years ago and loving it. i booked reservations more than 6 months in advance and was disappointed when the room was not as i had reserved. There was so much construction in the area - and parking fees were outrageous. i was also concerned about reports of bed bugs - but was pleasantly surprised to have a bug free stay.

Room Tip: The best view is of the lake AND the river - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Autumn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelle R, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Autumn B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers! We are excited to be your first choice location to stay for business and pleasure and that you were pleasantly surprised that you enjoyed your stay with us after 5 years. Your loyalty to our brand is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again very soon. I encourage you to try to connect with any of us prior to your arrival so we can personally update you of any downtown construction and parking fee rates.

Sincerely,

Mechelle R.
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 191 in Chicago
7,181 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#67 of 191 in Chicago
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £94 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing