We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Chicago

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #67 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed over a Saturday. According to the desk clerk, the hotel was full because the Chicago marathon was being ran that weekend. The lobby that looks out onto the river was never crowded. Neither was the hotel pool. The workout equipment was state of the art and all was clean and clean towels were available. Lockers were available in the locker room.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. The desk said that the upper floors had been more recently renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prodigal_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Prodigal_Hoosier,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience and was able to enjoy some of our amenities that are provided. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Andy M - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,371
    1,402
    636
    258
    137
See reviews for
976
917
183
2,025
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at the Illinois Suite of this hotel for 4th July this year - fantastic experience.

Location is absolutely wonderful, just minutes walk to Navy Pier, Michigan Street and my personal favorite - Water Taxi Stop. Breathtaking view from the tower. The interior is luxurious yet guest friendly, well maintained and managed.

Love the staff - highly professional and genuinely caring - asked for mini fridge, roll-away bed, additional towels, all delivered within 5-10 minutes. Front desk is polite and efficient, and the staff at the Club Lounge is amazing - funny and friendly, feels like family, good view and nice food (it was jam packed during the two days of my stay but they pulled it off making you feel no pressure at all).

Parking is a little expensive but hey it's downtown Chicago so what can you do...

A true five-star experience! Can't wait till go back there!

Room Tip: If you have access to the Club Loung, try to get a room on 18th floor and above. They have this exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and business, Jerry. It was a pleasure to host you and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We can't wait to have you return to our hotel. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Chicago for weekend getaways. Each time we like it, and each time, we try something a little different. Until now. I think when I go back, I'll always go to this Sheraton.

Perfect location, but then, all hotels in downtown are. All have cool shops and attractions within walking distance. Lots of photo ops and great location to host family who have never been to the windy city before. Just steps away from Millenium Park, Nike World, and Macy's - something for everyone.

Perfect location for the boat tours - we got on the first tour of the day on Saturday for the tour that includes river and lake. PLUS, The Sheraton is one of the buildings highlighted on that tour.

Our delightful concierge, Paula, helped us get boat tickets and dinner reservations. Very helpful since we were only there for a short weekend.

Rooms were nice, we have views of the Navy Pier Fireworks from our room, and the bar was fun, spacious, and a great place to watch soccer.

Everything went smoothly - we'll be back!

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MadEater,

We appreciate your great comments about our hotel, area and staff! We will share your feedback with Paula and ensure she was part of making a great weekend for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Andy M - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this hotels location, could walk every where, but was alittle disappointed in the room! The room was old and small! It was however, clean. The white tile in the bathroom was white and the floors were very clean! The staff was extremely accommodating and very helpful. And the valet's were always there to help! Great staff! Would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Carol M.,

We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you loved the location, our clean rooms, and our staff was helpful. I do apologize for any disappointment and would like the opportunity to discuss your experience. Please contact me at your convenience at 312-464-1000 or madalyn.ward-freeman@sheraton.com.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was in the perfect location and had a great view of the city and the river. We could easily walk to all the stores, restaurants and landmarks (John Hancock Center) downtown. After spending so many days walking, we were kind of tired and decided to take the trolley to the pier, which picked us up about a block away from the hotel. Our room was clean and all the staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge was especially helpful with suggestions for nearby restaurants and she booked us a trip on the Architectural Boat Tour (I highly recommend doing that).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskerwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelle R, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello huskerwendy,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you found our location convenient to many Chicago attractions and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Mechelle R.
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

i've been traveling to Chicago on business for years and this month, I had the pleasure of staying for the first time at the Sheraton Chicago. I will NEVER stay anyplace else! I'm all about customer service and this property has it in spades! It was WONDERFUL! From check-in to check-out, each staff member wanted to ensure that I had everything I needed. Imagine my surprise when I was greeted by name by Torre, the wonderful assistant who had checked me in on the first day of my week-long stay. It's truly incomprehensible that businesses in the hotel and travel industry don't understand that the most important quality they can offer is customer service. The Sheraton Chicago GETS IT!!! Thanks so much! I WILL be back . . .repeatedly!

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the Chicago river. It was gorgeous both by day and by night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Marcia N,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is great to hear that we were able to provide you with great customer service! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Andy M - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We got a great deal online to stay at this hotel and was glad we picked it. The staff was friendly upon check-in and the concierge gave a great recommendation (plus a priority seat ticket which helped up skip the line). The rooms were spacious enough. We asked for a view and got a great one of the river and lake. If you don't like crowds I would possibly consider another hotel since this one was big and there was a lot of groups that occupied the lobby and lounge downstairs. I would definitely stay here again. The only thing I would've requested to change would be for the thermostat to work better- the room didn't seem to change temperature as I would normally like for sleeping. Also, there is no free wifi- you'll be charged.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madalyn w, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Monica P.,

We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I apologize if you were not aware of the complimentary internet access in the Lobby and at the Link@Sheraton. We look forward to your return to the Sheraton Chicago.

Sincerely,

Madalyn W.
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#63 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#72 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,175 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#82 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing