We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great neighborhood”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #78 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Willows sits in the midst of a residential Chicago neighborhood a few blocks from the lake and from Grant Park zoo. There are tons of reasonably priced restaurants in walking distance--typically wonderful Chicago. The hotel is cozy, reasonably priced, free Internet, free breakfast (minimal), and the staff are great. Rooms are comfortable but next time I will ask for something larger (we opted for the cheapest) because our queen was very small. I would also ask for a room further from the elevator because it "dings" every time it comes to the floor--luckily, there don't seem to be any late night carousers and I brought my earplugs. All and all a nice choice.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrRiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel in October, 2012. The hotel is nice and reasonably priced. Locations is perfect. Complementary breakfast has bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, and cereals. Also they provide 24 hr coffee and tea. We had couple of things we did not like about the hotel. First, the pillows were thick and uncomfortable as I woke up with neck pain for the first time in my life. when I asked about a softer pillow at the front desk the guy in the morning was helpful and he said we will ask housekeeping. So at the end, he provided a softer pillow. Second, house keeping lady touched my stuff which I did not like. For the first night, I had to look for my slippers for like ten minutes in the room then I found them under the bed. Second night, I found my suitcase on the floor which I had put on the chair and which had been located on the chair for the past three days. Third thing I did not appreciate is that house keeping put new towels not in the hanger as usual but she put them on the toilette. So I did not like the new towels touching the toilette and would have appreciated it if she had placed them on the hangers as that was the usual location for the towels. Finally, I recommend the hotel despite these drawbacks.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank HB91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

When researching a "girls" getaway for Chicago I used my days as a travel agent to look at
all sorts of places that would fit our budgets, be in a semi residential area with good transportation nearby and not a stark chain style hotel. The Willows you were IT! Although one guide book said
budget it is reasonably priced, but more boutique than cheap. I gave the gang choices and we all
agreed. One friend who prefers a single made the bookings and then had to cancel her reservation. The amazing staff kept everything on the booking for us and when I reconfirmed all
was okay for 2 rooms. Everyone arrived at different times and all of us were greeted as though we were extra special. Attention to details is something The Willows does very well along with friendly, unhurried service, lots of tour and restaurant suggestions. We wanted to go to Oak Park
and all our map and bus info. was not helpful. A staff member used to live in OP and gave us
simple, uncomplicated directions that turned out to be so easy. Along with that he told us
the location of the best ice cream place in the neighbourhood. Every single staff member was
beyond wonderful - a shout out to a great place to stay. Clean rooms - comfortable beds - quiet roooms - breakfast available before touring and tea and cookies at 4PM. We loved Chicago but
it was The Willows that made it feel like home away from home. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Honor system for bar in room - Evian is not $1 so be careful - minor item. View from room was back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karlowsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed The Willows Hotel for two nights 10/12-13 while visiting our daughter who attends DePaul University. The Willows was just one EL stop north of DePaul or a pleasant 20 minute walk through lovely Lincoln Park. The Willows is a quaint property on a quiet street with helpful staff. Mauricio shared his knowledge of the area and helped us navigate our way around. We will definitely book another stay at the Willows. The neighborhood is full of great restaurants and fun pubs. Thanks Willows and see you nest visit to Chicago

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This week we stayed at The Willows for three nights. After a hectic travel schedule, this was a little oasis of calm. The room rate was surprisingly affordable.The room was lovely. Minor criticisms first - it was a little dark because it was on the first floor, and when I sat at the desk my friend could not get past to the bathroom. BUT that's it. Otherwise the room was superb. Everything was clean, the beds were plump and comfy,the bathing products were delightful, the minibar items well-priced. The breakfast in the foyer (included in the room rate) was surprisingly generous, and because our room was on the first floor we just took it back to the room with us. We took advantage of the free tea and coffee all day, and relished the cookies at 4pm when we returned form a day's sightseeing ravenous! The staff we encountered were both polite and very helpful. Caren was particularly wonderful. Her information was both correct and well-pitched for two middle-aged women. She saved us a lot of hassle finding tickets, trains, buses and taxis. The nieghbourhood was quiet and friendly with lots of lovely restaurants nearby, including Mista (recommended by Caren) for beautifully fresh organic produce made into sandwiches etc for lunch. It's a bit of a walk to the Loop, but we were able to do it in about 10 minutes. My friend is already planning a trip back to Chicago and will definitely stay at The Willows again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room upstairs to get a little more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagertogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I recently travelled to Chicago after visiting family and friends downstate from my home in Ireland. Traveling solo as an older woman this hotel was recommended to me as a clean, friendly, comfortable hotel with easy access to a direct bus downtown. It was all of this and more. The staff are friendly and efficient without being overbearing. My room was comfortable, quiet, and clean. The hotel is a short walk to Lincoln Park, the lake front and shops. And they give you breakfast!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRayKilkenny_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel and surrounding area was far more then we expected as we became quite content to simply mull around the streets to soak in the ambiance. The staff (special shout-out to Ricky, Adrian and Juan) were always going above and beyond the call of duty. The extras, such as the 24hr coffee, was a great touch. The room was always kept neat and tidy and we definitely want to come back again soon to continue our love of the city of Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Patrick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#76 of 191 in Chicago
866 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#110 of 191 in Chicago
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 191 in Chicago
234 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £65 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Hotel Chicago is a Lincoln Park favorite, located on a quiet residential street just steps from Lake Michigan. Within walking distance are countless dining and entertainment options, and downtown Chicago and Wrigley Field are a short drive away. The hotel includes continental breakfast, WiFi, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, as well as coffee and tea 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing