We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Good Location”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #70 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Corinth, MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Good Location”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a business/vacation trip to Chicago. The location is good. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. There is a train stop about 15 minutes walk away. It is an older building, but our room was comfortable. They provide parking at a garage down a neighboring alley for $22. This was very convenient. I had a problem checking into the garage on arrival and they deducted one day's parking to make up for that. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    336
    67
    24
    17
See reviews for
303
254
59
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights before moving on to travel Route 66.
This hotel is good value for money and located in a great area, near Lincoln Park and only a couple of miles from Downtown.
The rooms are a bit dated and gloomy, at least ours was, and we had booked a superior room.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
A basic breakfast was provided in the morning, which was cold and bought in from an outside company,but not bad.
Loads of restaurants and pubs within walking distance of the hotel
Considering the price of some Downtown hotels this is good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

For two nights in Chicago at The Willows, we enjoyed excellent accommodations and superb service. Besides living up to our expectations as a quaint and charming hotel, we appreciated the friendly and helpful staff -- Eric Williams, Bianca Pasare, Eric Quamme, and Miguel Cortez. Guests who who are driving will find, as we did, that the nearby parking garage offers convenient and secure parking at a reasonable rate. We will gladly return to The Willows.

Room Tip: Ask the staff who go out of their way to insure that guests have rooms that meet their desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

September 2012 we got married on North Ave beach in Chicago. We had a wonderfull wedding and stay at the willows. Nice romantic rooms, friendly staff and it's cheap to take a taxi where ever you want to go in Chicago.
Special thx to Ricky and Adrian who made are trip to Chicago a blast!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eveline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Willows for two nights in early August. The hotel is old, but charming. The bed was comfortable and the decor was nice.

The hotel is on a quiet side street, and the parking is directly behind the hotel in a (considerably) cheap garage. We walked to Wrigley Field from the hotel -- only took 30 minutes or so, and felt safe the entire time. It was also only a 10 minute walk to the nearest L station, and there were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Even though we weren't in the Loop, we felt like we could get around town with ease.

If you have an option, ask for a room away from the end with the elevator and stairs. Both make loud noises and the walls/doors aren't insulated well for sound. Also, our shower didn't exactly operate properly. At times, the water pressure would be fine and then slow to almost a trickle. It may have been just our room however. We selected to stay at a lower-priced room, so I shouldn't complain!

Room Tip: Our room's bathroom was so tiny, we had difficulties getting in and out. If you or a loved one...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Willows during a family trip to Chicago to look at colleges. The hotel was perfect for our needs. It's in a lively residential neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops nearby, but the hotel itself is on a relatively quiet side street. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is certainly older and has "character" -- which is to say that if you are looking for the polished uniformity of a chain hotel you won't find it here. Everything was very clean and in working order. There's one elevator (and it's small), but we didn't have any problem moving everything up to our fourth floor room. The lobby is small (like a European hotel, really). They serve a generous breakfast, which our children really enjoyed. We used the parking garage, which is right around the corner, and that worked very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Willows for one night recently, and it was consistent with our past experience. The room was very clean, the lobby very pleasant, the staff was courteous and very helpful. This is the first time we used the parking garage around the corner and it was convenient and very reasonable compared to other parking in Chicago--about half the cost for overnight. The location is fabulous...close to countless restaurants with all kinds of cuisine! Also close to shops, movies and not far from Wrigley field. We would always chose The Willows in Chicago. The complimentary breakfast was a typical hotel continental breakfast, which is what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing