We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drab hotel, drab part of town”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #83 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this Lincoln Park hotel on a groupon. Took both my girls on Chicago Xmas shop trip. We were way to far from the city center. I was hoping for boutique shopping which we found but stores spread out. We arrived for late check in on sat night. At first glance, foyer was cozy but furnishings shabby and worn. We were given one of the first rooms on the main 1st floor. NEVER AGAIN! What happens is people stand outside this room at 3 am and have conversations, loud ones. At 7 am they do the same on their way to breakfast! This room was right next to managers office. At 4 am we were awakened by someone above moving furniture-loudly! No thanks! Rooms are old and worn albeit high ceilings and comfy beds. Room overlooked brick wall. Next morning, breakfast was standard free fare( cheap eggs, yogurt, breads, fruit) and dining was in foyer which was packed so we went back to room.

To top all this neg. experience off, I discover the true nightly rate is $99 which is $36 less than what I paid with groupon!!!!! What a joke!!!! On a positive note, staff friendly but this alone not worth coming back.

Stores in proximity are TJ Maxx, bed, bath, beyond

Room Tip: Don't select 1st floor just steps from manager office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursenomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Willows Hotel. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests and we pay careful attention to comments such as yours so that we may take immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way.
I would like to assure you that our intention is to make every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves so as to provide a high level of value and warmly memorable experience each and every time a guest visits. I would like to discuss this matter further with you so please email me at keith@broughtonhotels.com or call me at 773-404-3499.
I hope that your experience on this visit will not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you back to Chicago. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,

Keith Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Thank U Bianca 4 delightful & wonderful stay。 Great location, close 2 everthing。 Will definitely B returning soon。 Lovely stay in Chicago. Clean, friendly, nice breakfast, and every staff member is at the top of their game.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

You know it is a relaxing stay when your hotel feels like you are at home. What a lovely historic building. It just exudes charm and class. Cannot wait for my next stay. You just do not receive this type of customer service anywhere else. A hidden gem in Lakeview East.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTweetThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My mom, sister and I recently stayed at The Willows for a Chicago get away. The staff, especially Bianca, John and Ben were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were clean and inviting. The included breakfast was very good and appreciated. The continuous coffee and afternoon cookies are nice bonus. The convenient location to many restaurants and stores combined with the quality service make The Willows a great place to stay.
We're looking forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMMWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Willows is a great place to stay in Lincoln Park/Lakeview area. The place is clean, quiet and very nice. Adrian is a great host at the front desk. He is very helpful with directions, where to go, and what to do. The chocolate chip cookies are delicious every day at about 4 pm. Nice neighborhood place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Hotel is older, but well maintained, well furnished and has good amenities. It's in a great location, nice quiet street, good neighborhood, near shops and restaurants. Short safe walk to the bus to museums, shopping, Art Institute. Nice breakfast in lobby with cozy fireplace. Very nice and helpful staff. Helped me figure out buses and looked up next bus coming for me. Staff was always available and friendly. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#80 of 191 in Chicago
871 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 191 in Chicago
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 191 in Chicago
236 reviews
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#101 of 191 in Chicago
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £65 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Hotel Chicago is a Lincoln Park favorite, located on a quiet residential street just steps from Lake Michigan. Within walking distance are countless dining and entertainment options, and downtown Chicago and Wrigley Field are a short drive away. The hotel includes continental breakfast, WiFi, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, as well as coffee and tea 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing