We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Boutique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We needed to find a place to stay after the furnace failed in our condo rental. I had looked at the hotel as a backup just in case. The Willows turned out to be a smaller hotel (my preference) near our son's home, European in style (tiny elevator) with a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was small but adequate since we weren't there much and it was a little shabby around the edges although very clean. The breakfast was adequate, enough to get us going. Our room was a great price in the middle of winter, but I don't know if I would have paid $290 for it in the summer, as the front desk quoted.

Room Tip: Although our room was above the front desk, it was on a side street and not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    327
    64
    23
    17
See reviews for
294
248
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for two nights with our two teenage daughters. The hotel was very quiet and perfect for what we wanted. The hotel staff was always very helpful whenever we asked for directions, restaurant choices, etc. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We read several reviews and upon arrival we asked for a room away from the alley. Our room was extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirsopMuskego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We checked in late and left after breakfast so our experience was limited but fine. The Willows is not a luxurious ranked hotel but we knew that and we found it was more than adequate for the price. The location In Lincoln Park was fine, the room was nice but small, (and it was clean) the breakfast was not much but the coffee was great, and that's the main thing. The only drawback was the parking. We are from SC and not used to paying high overnite Chicago parking prices, so it kind of smarts when we forget to add that into the overall cost. I think it was about $50. However, that is part of the deal in a large city, ( you'd find the same thing in metro Atlanta). I'd stay here again as long as we got the same good rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiepeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Willows Hotel. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guest.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Keith Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this Lincoln Park hotel on a groupon. Took both my girls on Chicago Xmas shop trip. We were way to far from the city center. I was hoping for boutique shopping which we found but stores spread out. We arrived for late check in on sat night. At first glance, foyer was cozy but furnishings shabby and worn. We were given one of the first rooms on the main 1st floor. NEVER AGAIN! What happens is people stand outside this room at 3 am and have conversations, loud ones. At 7 am they do the same on their way to breakfast! This room was right next to managers office. At 4 am we were awakened by someone above moving furniture-loudly! No thanks! Rooms are old and worn albeit high ceilings and comfy beds. Room overlooked brick wall. Next morning, breakfast was standard free fare( cheap eggs, yogurt, breads, fruit) and dining was in foyer which was packed so we went back to room.

To top all this neg. experience off, I discover the true nightly rate is $99 which is $36 less than what I paid with groupon!!!!! What a joke!!!! On a positive note, staff friendly but this alone not worth coming back.

Stores in proximity are TJ Maxx, bed, bath, beyond

Room Tip: Don't select 1st floor just steps from manager office
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Willows Hotel. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests and we pay careful attention to comments such as yours so that we may take immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way.
I would like to assure you that our intention is to make every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves so as to provide a high level of value and warmly memorable experience each and every time a guest visits. I would like to discuss this matter further with you so please email me at keith@broughtonhotels.com or call me at 773-404-3499.
I hope that your experience on this visit will not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you back to Chicago. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,

Keith Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Thank U Bianca 4 delightful & wonderful stay。 Great location, close 2 everthing。 Will definitely B returning soon。 Lovely stay in Chicago. Clean, friendly, nice breakfast, and every staff member is at the top of their game.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

You know it is a relaxing stay when your hotel feels like you are at home. What a lovely historic building. It just exudes charm and class. Cannot wait for my next stay. You just do not receive this type of customer service anywhere else. A hidden gem in Lakeview East.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTweetThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My mom, sister and I recently stayed at The Willows for a Chicago get away. The staff, especially Bianca, John and Ben were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were clean and inviting. The included breakfast was very good and appreciated. The continuous coffee and afternoon cookies are nice bonus. The convenient location to many restaurants and stores combined with the quality service make The Willows a great place to stay.
We're looking forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMMWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 West Surf Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing