We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #70 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Such a nice hotel, from the great location for accessibility to so many happenings , to the charming neighborhood which I absolutely loved. The entire staff is very friendly and cheerful, felt very comfortable staying there. The check in process on a busy Saturday afternoon (sorry, forgot who was at the desk!) was easy , friendly and set the tone for the whole stay(I was early and the room was ready). The check out process (Juan!) was just as great - at 5:30am!, he was right there and flagged a cab immediately. Thanks to Dan for making all the arrangements and introducing me to such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55mdr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    332
    67
    23
    17
See reviews for
300
250
59
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

With only 55 rooms this is a hotel where the personal touch is truly at it best.

Pricing is very reasonable and while the hotel is not a five star property the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Without question the best aspect of the hotel is the staff, from the front desk, to maids, to the bellman all of whom are very friendly and make you feel at home. They don't wait to be asked for anything, they are always asking if there is something they can do for you.

During my most recent stay we found it necessary to extend my stay twice and in each case they made adjustments not only to accommodate the the extension, they also made it possible for us to stay in the same room. I have been fortunate to have traveled the world extensively and stay at some of the finest luxury hotels. While The Willows may not have the grandeur of George V in Paris, Claridge's in London, I can truly say I have never stayed anywhere with a more friendly and attentive staff...not even The Peninsula Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roderick_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a nice hotel. It is located near Lincoln park 30 min ride with the train or 15 min taxi ride to the Loop. The staff is very helpful, room small but clean. Comparing to prices in other hotels in the same period we traveled, this vas excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Adrian was very friendly. had an issue with the in room movies and dvd player didnt work but other than that it was great. Better than expected little cont. breakfast every morning. Great location for cubs games. We biked all over the city with the new Divvy bikes (a station is only 2 blocks away). My gf used the free access to the gym across the street too. I look forward to making this an annual event if i can afford it :)

Room Tip: room was small but was adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I found all the staff, especially the front desk clerk, Adrian, to be very cordial and accommodating. He had booked my original reservation two weeks before when I found I had to come into town on short notice over the Memorial holiday weekend to help out a family member. He was there the evening I checked in and was able to provide a room upgrade at no additional charge. I found the room very spacious, clean and comfortable. Free snacks were provided in the lobby, and reasonably priced ones in the room. Adrian continued to be helpful throughout my three night stay providing directions, menus, and safe walking route suggestions. Every staff member I saw, whether at breakfast, cleaning staff, or bell hops, always smiled, said hello and asked if there was anything I needed.

This is an older building and my only suggestion would be to add/create either a sink counter or shelf to hold cosmetics and makeup.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKDub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at The Willows. It is a cozy hotel. The location is great. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast was ample. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiberpetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at The Willows for two nights. Good news: The bed was quite comfortable and all the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Everyone was pleasant and helpful - particularly Benito and Daniella. Hot coffee was available all day in the lobby, and the continental breakfast was very nice to have in the morning.

Bad news:However, the room was terribly old and dark. The windows were dirty and obscured, and obviously hadn't been washed on the outside in a very long time - which didn't matter too much because the only view was the next door red brick building and parking garage. The window coverings were adjusted by pulling a chain on a pulley and would badly stick. They were very hard and extremely difficult to raise and lower.

The window AC unit in the bedroom was quite loud and very noisy, and interfered with sleeping well, and was either on or off, no adjusting for temperature. The bathroom was very small and was completely inadequate for attempting to store hair products and makeup. I had to keep several items on the floor. The bathroom sink edge tilted inward in and items could not be placed on the sink either.

I stayed here because I was visiting a friend who lives in the neighborhood. The Lakeview neighborhood is wonderful -- lots of people activity on the streets, great restaurants, bars and a multi-screen cinema all within walking distance. However,mI would not choose to stay at The Willows. Their price point is not competitive with much newer and more upscale hotels downtown or in River North. No special deal is provided at this small, dark, old hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms. Some are much better and nicer than others, although the price goes up acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Willows Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your appraisal of the staff especially Benito and Daniella, and of our continental breakfast. While I am happy to read your positive feedback, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in anyway. I have brought your feedback on the cleaniness of your window, A/C too loud, and no place to place your toiletries items to the entire management staff, in an effort to prevent any similiar occurrences from happening in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Willows Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
broughtonHOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 West Surf Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing