We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #77 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, always at the ready to go the extra mile! The lobby is appealing and the rooms spacious. The parking was right behind the hotel and reasonable relative to other Chicago parking rates! Would have liked more fresh fruit choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planneroftrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for The Willows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I struggled whether to rate this as average or very good. If you are looking for modern, sleak, trendy -- it's average. If you are looking for comfortable, clean, quiet in a great location - it is very good. I'll start with the plusses - it is ideally located in Lincoln Park. Can't get a better location for your money. The rooms are small (more about that later) and clean. Our room was quiet, but ask for a room not on the first floor, not close to the elevator and not close to the stairs. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and accomodating. I read earlier reveiws and thought they must have been written by friends and family, but they are true. You can't find a nicer group. They keep fresh fruit and cookies for free all day in the lobby. Very nice touch.

And now the minuses. Our first room was very, very, very small. We asked if there was an upgrade available, and they readily moved us to a larger room. Still small, but it worked for us. If you get make a reservation, ask to not be placed in the tiny rooms. Breakfast was average. Not good; not bad. Coffee was as good as people say; the rest was ok. A step above Holiday Inn Express, but definitely not B&B quality.

Is the Willows elegant? Definitely not. Is it a good value. Definitely yes. Would I stay there again? You bet.

Room Tip: Not first floor -- too noisy
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophiedogdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros:
Gorgeous vintage building in residential neighborhood
Convenient parking garage on same block (for the typical $22/night)
Nice lobby
Windows actually open (though most of our were painted shut)
Decent bed/bedding

Cons:
Small room with awkward placement of tiny desk and chair
Bathroom was extremely small -- door blocked commode -- tiny pedestal sink
Only one window was openable; the others were stuck

It was fine for a single night and we liked the overall atmosphere, but I wouldn't choose it for a longer stay unless I could get a larger room with larger bath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to Chicago. I am pleased to read your appreciation of our hotel and the renovations that we just completed. I would like to apologize for the petite queen room which is our smallest rooms in the hotel that you booked at the time of your reservation. We have many rooms that are very spacious that come with a King or two queen beds in the room. Please contact me at keith@broughtonhotels.com the next time you are visiting Chicago so I can make these arrangements for you.

We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
broughtonHOTELS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a great place. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast, 24 hour coffee and afternoon cookies were great. We were able to buy VIP tickets from the hotel so we could go to Shedd Aquarium, so no line waiting. Me and my wife will always stay here when we come to Chicago. Thank you to all the staff at Willows Hotel for making our stay in Chicago very welcoming.
TJ Compton & Angie Bowser
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBrat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed the past weekend with my wife for our wedding anniversary. We stay on the fourth floor , our room was not what we expected at all, it had a bad moldy smell, bathtub was greasy and dirty around. Water not running perfectly, toilet running, we left a note on top of the desk to the maid , thinking that she will take care of the issues or at least notified the person to fix the problems. Also the breakfast was not so good with all the stale bread. Fruit not fresh at all, coffee was bitter, just like old coffee. We had a bad weekend trip. We heard the maids making comment's about other guest , not pleasant at all. Cause they probably made a comment about us too, we understood everything they were talking on spanish. Maids talking on cellphones when cleaning , that happen twice , during our stay. The front desk agent that was on duty, it was nice to us, professional, polite. Hope you make changes so future guest won't complain with similar issues.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Willows Hotel on your most recent visit to Chicago. I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel dissappointed in our services. We take great pride in our service which is most concerning to me that you did not receive. I have met with our managers and team members on your issues to make sure that this does not happen for our future guest.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Willows Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
broughtonHOTELS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful old building in a good, interesting neighbourhood which was a pleasure to walk around in; it is walking distance (45 minutes) to downtown. The hotel has personality, the common spaces are great; the room was very pleasant, nicely furnished and with comfortable beds. Only problem: it was very dark and with insufficient artificial lighting to remedy this. The windows looked on a wall. The staff was very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors and not on the side closer to Clark St.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Willows hotel for 4 nights June 13- 17th 2014 - and our stay was perfect.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff - they were brilliant - the hotel is exactly what is says on their website. You won't be disappointed. The hotel is situated in a really safe area with lots of local shops and restaurants.
Breakfast is a perfect start to your day in Chicago - plenty of selection to suit all tastes.
We would definitely stay at the Willows again and we have already recommended this to family and friends planning a visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleARegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#51 of 191 in Chicago
793 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 191 in Chicago
517 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 191 in Chicago
231 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £75 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing