We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #84 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed on a Club floor, which was near the top. Decent city views, large room. The location is great, very convenient for public transportation or walking just about anywhere in the area.

The hotel is somewhat dated overall-- the room was huge but the bathroom was tiny, and the closet was big but hard to access.

The club had amazing views over the lake, I could have sat there all day enjoying my breakfast.

Sometimes The Drake has great prices on offer, if that's the case I would stay here without hesitation. However, if it's the same price as some of the newer hotels in the area, I probably would try one of them instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,183 - 3,189 of 4,055 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Booking this hotel was the best thing we did, the experience was really one of the highlights of our honeymoon. My husband had emailed the manager before we arrived to say we were coming for our honeymoon and to ask some questions. When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne in our room from the hotel manager which was a fantastic touch especially after a 14 hour flight.
There was no queue for check in and it was really quick and easy. The suitcases were brought to our room really quickly after we had checked in.

The room was gorgeous really American style and reminded me of the hotel in pretty woman. There was so much character and the decor was fantastic. It was spacious with a great bathroom. There were coffee and tea facilities in the room which was a real plus.

One day we decided to have afternoon tea and a member of staff booked us in with no hassles at all. The afternoon tea was one of the best i have ever had. I dont eat meat so my husband asked if they could substitute the meat sandwiches for something else which they did with no extra charge and with no fuss. The service was great there and was really an experience i will remember. The chandeliers are memorising.

All the staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. Check out was again extremely easy. The evening before we left we received the bill under the door and if we were happy with it we could just leave the following day without going to see a member of staff. This saved us a lot of time and is just so efficient.

The hotel is located in a great location. It is about a three minute walk to the John Hancock building and all the shops are close by. You can walk to Navy Pier from it and lots of other attractions.

We cant say enough about this hotel it is really fantastic and we cant wait to go back again....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bracey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I would highly recommend the drake for your chicago stay. We stayed in a family suite with 2 teenagers. It was a nice big room with king bed and foldout couch. They also gave us a rollaway. Big down comforters, towels, and xtra blankets were all given to us. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. For runners or walkers, you simply go out the back door of the drake, and you are on a great lake front path for miles. Wonderful location to shops and restaurants. I will go back aain!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This post is pertinent for small plane pilots primarily. We live in North Carolina and love getting our annual "Drake" fix. From our front door in NC to the lobby of the Drake it only took 4 hours and 15 minutes. We fly into Gary Jet Center in Gary Indiana (GYY). Extremely easy and completely avoids the busy Chicago airspace. Gary Jet Center offers a one minute shuttle ride to the train stop...and the trains run on schedule (schedules available online. About 30 minutes later the train lets you off at Millenium Park. A short walk (about 1 mile) down the Magnificent Mile and you're walking in the Drake's lobby. You'll pass a Walgreens about 1 block from the hotel where you can purchase a 1-day pass ($5.25) which is good for unlimited travel on the metro trains and buses. If the Cubs are playing, you can take the redline train (1 block from Walgreens) to Wrigley Field...about a 10-15 minute ride...see the game and get back all for $5.25...and still have almost a day left on your transit pass. So easy. We then took a cab to the University of Chicaco to see their Egyption Antiquities Exhibit (mummies included) at the Oriental Museum (free admission), then took in the Museum of Science and Technology and used our transit pass for a ride back to the Drake. The Drake is, as always, fantastic. The staff is friendly and efficient. The Executive Lounge is "okay". Sodas all day. Adult beverages for sale in the evening. Breakfast equals juice, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, bagels and sweet rolls, cereals and yogurt. Some of the best fruit we've had all year. The executive lounge staff is excellent. The concierge staff was extremely helpful with sightseeing tips for kid friendly as well as pocket-friendly options. Bike rentals are available across the street. The Drake is great for most anyone...for General Aviation pilots it's a dream. Easy flight into Gary. Quick and easy train ride to downtown. Easy walk to the Drake. Reverse it all to go home.

Room Tip: The queen two-bedroom option provides two, yes two, bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welovelove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed at the Drake Hotel in the Gold Coast Historic District where the Magnificent Mile begins. Checking in was surprisingly easy, even though I arrived at the hotel before noon and check in is listed as 3pm. When I entered my room, it was love at first sight. It was the perfect room for me, nice and cool (I appreciated having control over the thermostat- I have stayed in some historical hotels where you do not ); the bed looked amazingly comfortable, and was. I looked out the window at a view of the beach and Lake Michigan. I was very happy with the location being near the beach. After a busy day of walking, I decided to stay nearby for a casual dinner at Oak Street beach. Watching Lake Michigan splashing was very relaxing. I walked along the lake to Navy Pier in the morning. Another perfect choice for me.

The staff were friendly and exceptional. The valets were helpful without being intrusive. As I was leaving in the morning, a maintenance man stopped what he was doing to offer to help with my luggage. I declined, as I needed to search for my keys etc on the way to check-out. Reception was always available and check-out was very easy. I spoke with several concierge and received great directions for within Chicago, as well as to my next destination. I left my rental car at Enterprise's parking and avoided the parking fee. I took my laptop to the lobby for wifi. I did not incur any additional charges. The room was clean with plenty of Peter Thomas Roth toiletries and towels. It is an older building, and if contemporary is what one is going for, it might not be the right one for you . I do extensive research before traveling to find the right fit for me for accommodation and activities, and selecting the Drake helped make this visit a perfect 10. More pictures of the hotel and area are at http://pspective.com/travel

Room Tip: For me it was worth it to pay a little more for a view. The room was quiet, which was important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed in the Drake for 2 nights. It's a grand hotel with lots of character, but the room and facilities are a let down. The twin bedded room was small, with barely enough room to walk around the beds. There was one arm chair and no coffee table, so one person had to sit on the bed or the desk chair. Not very relaxing after a hard day's sight seeing. The bathroom supplies consisted of one tube of shampoo, one tube of conditioner, two bars of soap, no shower gel, no robes.The toiletries were inadequate for two people, and weren't replaced on day two. A minor point admittedly, but the hair dryer was in a cloth bag hanging from a hook on the bathroom door. Whenever the door opened or closed the dryer thumped against the door - an annoying noise in the middle of the night in particular. The hotel guide said that a newspaper is delivered to the rooms every morning - none appeared in our room. A bit of a let down especially as the price was relatively high. The location is excellent, but it's not the only hotel in the location, so I'd check out others next time. We brought the lack of bathroom supplies to the attention of the desk clerk on checking out & just received an 'Oh I'm so sorry' reply.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taistil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Taistill,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you were caused and regret that we did not provide you with our normal very high standards of service. I apologize for your experience with housekeeping and the tolitires in your guest room were not replaced. I am also truly sorry that you did not receive your moring paper and have adequate space in your guest room. I will speak with all relevant departments regarding your experience. We appreciate your advising us of your experience in order that we may correct any lapses in our service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our very high level of service, and if you will contact me directly the next time you plan a trip to Chicago, I will make certain you have a most enjoyable stay. Stefan Gruvberger Hotel Manager The Drake Hotel 312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A first visit to Chicago for my wife and I. Where else to stay, but The Drake. The scaffolding outside ( probably now removed ) didn't give a very good impression, but once inside it was love a first sight. A grand dame indeed, reminiscent of the Waldorf in NY. Service that you would expect from such an institution. Pay a little extra for a superior Lake view room and enjoy a classic picture postcard view. Olde world charm with flat TV's, and at a very reasonable ( by UK standards ) price.
What's not to love about The Drake? Unbeatable location on " The Mile ", luxury rooms and good food. OK, but you wouldn't have to pay for room Internet access in a Motel 6, so why does The Drake think that a charge is in order. Free Internet in the bar and public areas makes guests even more disgruntled.

Room Tip: Stipulate a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Collinrhthomas,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you will feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance to you.

Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,005 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing