We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the big rooms & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #82 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My family spent a Saturday overnight at The Drake Hotel and loved it. The hotel has adjoining room configurations that are very unique so you can combine suites to accomodate lots of different options. My husband & I shared a large king suite and the adjoining room had 2 twins for the teenagers.

The concierge was very friendly and helped us with directions. The hotel is extremely close to Water Tower & the Hancock building.

Our bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y0giniTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,031 - 3,037 of 3,981 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

What a great place and location, but the rooms are too dated to be considered a good deal for the price. There are better options. Sad for the Drake once held the premier place, but now it is just a storied hotel below the others in the area. The attitude of the front end staff was far below 5 star standards. The porters and bell men were excellent and funny.

Room Tip: Get a high floor or one with a Lake Michigan view. Otherwise you may get a view of the fire escape o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've always had mixed feelings about staying in older hotels. On the plus side, they tend to be somewhat charming; it's kind of like stepping into a time machine to a more genteel era. On the down side, the upkeep required to maintain an older property is astronomical, both in monetary resourses and human labor. I was skeptical about the Drake after seeing some of the reviews, but overall I was pleasantly surprised. For location, it's right off Michigan Avenue, so it's tough to beat. The public spaces were beautfiul and very well-maintained, old fashion in a good way but without being musty. My room was huge, which I did not expect: most rooms in historic hotels tend to have the square footage of a shoebox, but not the Drake. The bathroom was disappointing in size and fixtures, although that I did expect. Loved the Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities! Staff was very nice, with the lone exception being the wait staff at Coq d'Or...20 minutes with a glass of ice water and no one seemed to even notice I was there (in their defense, it was a very busy night with a huge convention beginning the next day). The servers at Cape Cod, on the other hand, were personable and efficient. I'll probably try another hotel next time I'm in Chicago, but I'd stay at the Drake again if the rate was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2surly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We loved our 4 nights at The Drake. The staff were wonderful from the concierge to the cleaning staff. Restaurants in the hotel were terrific, and the location couldn't be better for exploring the Magnificent Mile. Our only concern was the bathrooms, which could use some plumbing upgrades, but probably this is to be expected in a building of this age.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 442annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

There is a lot to be said about staying at a historic property like the Drake. The lobby is magnificent. You can have high tea. The 10th floor lounge is wonderful. Location? Perfect. But the rooms are leaning too far into the "old world charm" and are becoming tired. As a business traveler, I am spoiled: I like quiet properties with modern amenities. Unfortunately, for the price, the Drake didn't come through. The carpet was warn, the paint chipping and the bathroom echoed (fortunately, I was alone). I just expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWearyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stopped into the Drake to ogle its old-world charm and ended up staying for lunch at the Palm Court midst all the folks who were enjoying high tea. Service was elegant, of course; the harpist was playing and everything was beautiful. Food was good, but mostly we were just happy looking around and enjoying everyone else. It was a lovely way to spend some time on a November afternoon in Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I traveled to Chicago for the first time and stayed at The Drake Hotel along the Magnificent Mile. WOW! We wanted to stay somewhere that had an authentic, non chain feel and this was it!

The pros:
* The hotel retains a unique feel and atmosphere even though it is a Hilton property.

* The entire staff provided EXCELLENT customer service. Everyone from the valet, to front desk, to Concierge was friendly, helpful and professional.

* Walking to many restaurants and shopping areas is simple and within blocks.

* The hotel has access to the lakeside recreational trail across the street for those who want outdoor recreation and truly well equipped fitness center indoors.

* Rooms were well sized for a city environment.

* Easy to navigate area without a car to head downtown for the adventurous who are willing to use subway. Access is an easy several block walk.

* Easy access to many local attractions listed in the Go Chicago card.

Possible cons:
This is truly a four star hotel, so the prices for everything matched that expectation. Hence, I would not recommend this hotel for lower middle class families traveling on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queencamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £113 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing