We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine old place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #80 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If it's atmosphere and location you want, this is your place. From the warm welcome at check in to the comfortable, traditional decor, everything speaks to a pleasant desire to make you comfortable. This was a short business stay, so I didn't get to the restaurants. Room service was on time and nicely served and the banquet food actually had taste. Worth seeing even for one night and probably even better for a longer stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,941)
There are newer reviews for The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,554 - 2,560 of 3,941 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Drake for the second year in a row for a conference. The hotel has a grand, classic feel. The whole hotel including my room was very clean. The staff are all very professional and friendly. Slight negative comments from my room include dated furniture (which were still in good shape considering their age) and some noise from the radiator. It is an old hotel so I get how the radiator could make some noise. I am usually somebody who is bothered by that but I kept the room and was able to sleep fine with it. (This does not appear to be an issue in all rooms as other I spoke to did not have that issue). In room safe is a nice feature. Also had a fully stocked refrigerator. I like being able to put my own drinks in the frig which is limited to two small bottles.
The Drake is located in a great location for conferences as well as those who love to shop. All of the high end stores are within walking distance (or a short cab ride). You can also walk to Northwestern University from the Drake.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

loved the hotel, friendliness os staff, clean large room . Location is fantastic right on Michigan Avenue at the top allows you access to the lake and the whole avenue. I would gladly stay at the hotel on other occasions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall, the Drake is a solid choice in a good location...value is dependent on the rate you receive.

Lobby - lobby is more of a 'classic' design...I am never a fan of the lobby that requires you to walk-up to the check-in desk, although quite a few hotels do this. Check-in was smooth although a line did form...they were a little slow in assigning additional people to check people in.

Room - we had a room on the executive level...king size bed. Overall, the room size was very large and had a nice view of the lake. No complaints at all with the room.

Location - very nice location. close to the lake to run or walk. Close to michigan ave for shopping and food. close enough to walk to navy pier...a bit of a walk, but doable.

Food - we didnt eat within the hotel restaurants

Service - overall, service was good.

If you are looking for a solid hotel in a good location...then the Drake is a good choice (as always, dependent on the rate you receive)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRXsand2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The reputation of the Drake as having seen better days and being a bit "tired" is completely undeserved. My upgraded Jr.Suite was average Hilton quality, huge, but average. The public spaces, however, the ballrooms and dining at the grande dame of Chicago hotels are beautiful, lovingly maintained and are reminiscent of a time gone by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank traveller1chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Service: Personnel was friendly and polite Room: worn, bathroom had dust, caulk had started to peel in places Food: Felt like if it had been purchased from a cheap grocery store, probably past its expiration date

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dimitre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. It is truly disappointing to hear that our hospitality fell below your expectations. I can assure you that cleanliness and culinary satisfaction are areas we pride ourselves in. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak to you directly about your time at The Drake. Please email me your TripAdvisor name and contact information (email/phone) and I will reach out at a time specified by you.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Didn't stay at The Drake but our young nine year old Grand Daughter took my husband and I to High Tea whilst we were visiting Chicago. She had been there before and wanted to share this happy experience with us. The service, atmosphere and The High Tea were all fantastic. A truly enjoyable afternoon and rates as one of the very special outings we had in Chicago.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £112 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing