We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Breakfast”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stay at a lot of Hilton hotels, and one of the best perks is the morning breakfast that elite travellers like me receive. I have to say that the Drake hotel breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. Made to order omelette. Plain yogurt (yes! I always look for plain yogurt and you had it!) and everything else I wanted. Excellent breakfast. The room was wonderful as well, overlooking Michigan Ave. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank antdugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    1,074
    426
    230
    117
See reviews for
710
1,222
168
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

If it's atmosphere and location you want, this is your place. From the warm welcome at check in to the comfortable, traditional decor, everything speaks to a pleasant desire to make you comfortable. This was a short business stay, so I didn't get to the restaurants. Room service was on time and nicely served and the banquet food actually had taste. Worth seeing even for one night and probably even better for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Drake for the second year in a row for a conference. The hotel has a grand, classic feel. The whole hotel including my room was very clean. The staff are all very professional and friendly. Slight negative comments from my room include dated furniture (which were still in good shape considering their age) and some noise from the radiator. It is an old hotel so I get how the radiator could make some noise. I am usually somebody who is bothered by that but I kept the room and was able to sleep fine with it. (This does not appear to be an issue in all rooms as other I spoke to did not have that issue). In room safe is a nice feature. Also had a fully stocked refrigerator. I like being able to put my own drinks in the frig which is limited to two small bottles.
The Drake is located in a great location for conferences as well as those who love to shop. All of the high end stores are within walking distance (or a short cab ride). You can also walk to Northwestern University from the Drake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

loved the hotel, friendliness os staff, clean large room . Location is fantastic right on Michigan Avenue at the top allows you access to the lake and the whole avenue. I would gladly stay at the hotel on other occasions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall, the Drake is a solid choice in a good location...value is dependent on the rate you receive.

Lobby - lobby is more of a 'classic' design...I am never a fan of the lobby that requires you to walk-up to the check-in desk, although quite a few hotels do this. Check-in was smooth although a line did form...they were a little slow in assigning additional people to check people in.

Room - we had a room on the executive level...king size bed. Overall, the room size was very large and had a nice view of the lake. No complaints at all with the room.

Location - very nice location. close to the lake to run or walk. Close to michigan ave for shopping and food. close enough to walk to navy pier...a bit of a walk, but doable.

Food - we didnt eat within the hotel restaurants

Service - overall, service was good.

If you are looking for a solid hotel in a good location...then the Drake is a good choice (as always, dependent on the rate you receive)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRXsand2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The reputation of the Drake as having seen better days and being a bit "tired" is completely undeserved. My upgraded Jr.Suite was average Hilton quality, huge, but average. The public spaces, however, the ballrooms and dining at the grande dame of Chicago hotels are beautiful, lovingly maintained and are reminiscent of a time gone by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Service: Personnel was friendly and polite Room: worn, bathroom had dust, caulk had started to peel in places Food: Felt like if it had been purchased from a cheap grocery store, probably past its expiration date

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dimitre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. It is truly disappointing to hear that our hospitality fell below your expectations. I can assure you that cleanliness and culinary satisfaction are areas we pride ourselves in. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak to you directly about your time at The Drake. Please email me your TripAdvisor name and contact information (email/phone) and I will reach out at a time specified by you.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing