We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and hotel”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #81 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Drake for a quick getaway .We requested a lake view room and had a fantastic view! The room was beautiful as well as the hotel! Being an old hotel they have maintained the charm and beauty. Try the French onion soup, it is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choochnbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    1,115
    449
    240
    122
See reviews for
741
1,273
175
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Wonerful classic classy hotel in the middle of downtown Chicago. Lunch at the Drake is a Chicago tradition. Lovely location, wonderful ambience, great service. Can't be beat. Get an upgraded room and treat yourself.

Room Tip: External viewing windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The food in the lounge in the evening needs to be improved. There is very little selection and it could be improved by just adding vegetables for color and a healthy choice. The staff makes you feel welcome and do what they can to enhance your stay. The location is great for shopping and has a fantastic view of Oak Street Beach and the Lake Shore Drive along the lake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

the rooms are in need of updating (not to mention sound-proofing)- especially considering price to stay. while staff is very pleasant and attentive, it can not make up for the tired room furnishings, dim lighting and thin walls. while the room rate was in keeping with what other "luxury" hotels are charging in downtown chicago, it was disappointing to be in such dreary surroundings. also, the room service menu prices were pretty astounding. hard to believe a three-egg costs any where near $18 to make- even with three ingredients.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We promise our guests a singular REAL CHICAGO experience. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be "very pleasant and attentive" during your stay. However, it burdens me that you didn't enjoy the overall atmosphere. I would like the opportunity to discuss your impressions further to enhance The Drake's customer experience. If possible, please email me your contact information, TripAdvisor name, and best time for me to call/email so that we may get in touch.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stay at a lot of Hilton hotels, and one of the best perks is the morning breakfast that elite travellers like me receive. I have to say that the Drake hotel breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. Made to order omelette. Plain yogurt (yes! I always look for plain yogurt and you had it!) and everything else I wanted. Excellent breakfast. The room was wonderful as well, overlooking Michigan Ave. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank antdugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

If it's atmosphere and location you want, this is your place. From the warm welcome at check in to the comfortable, traditional decor, everything speaks to a pleasant desire to make you comfortable. This was a short business stay, so I didn't get to the restaurants. Room service was on time and nicely served and the banquet food actually had taste. Worth seeing even for one night and probably even better for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Drake for the second year in a row for a conference. The hotel has a grand, classic feel. The whole hotel including my room was very clean. The staff are all very professional and friendly. Slight negative comments from my room include dated furniture (which were still in good shape considering their age) and some noise from the radiator. It is an old hotel so I get how the radiator could make some noise. I am usually somebody who is bothered by that but I kept the room and was able to sleep fine with it. (This does not appear to be an issue in all rooms as other I spoke to did not have that issue). In room safe is a nice feature. Also had a fully stocked refrigerator. I like being able to put my own drinks in the frig which is limited to two small bottles.
The Drake is located in a great location for conferences as well as those who love to shop. All of the high end stores are within walking distance (or a short cab ride). You can also walk to Northwestern University from the Drake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,969 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing