We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #81 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Its was a great elegance experience. The food was outstanding, great staff. A very cozy place that you'll forget you're in one of the busiest city. Love my executive suiye that faces the Lake Michagan. Everything was perfect! Will surely be back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expl0r3r500008888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    1,115
    449
    240
    122
See reviews for
741
1,273
175
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the minute you step inside the hotel, you know you are in a hotel that is comfortable in its own skin. The staff is very professional and the suites are memorable. If you have the fortune of getting lakefront, the view is mesmerizing. The concierge club is nice but far too small for the amount of guests that use it so you have to fight for a seat. The property is well maintained and very clean. My favorite part was the bench in some of the elevators--such a throwback to the elegance of the past.

Room Tip: Lake views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed for one night just before New Years Eve. We checked in early (and paid the $25) and enjoyed the city. Upon check in, I noticed several room's had food/dishes outside their doors. When we returned from shopping, there were still glasses outside of our room. I asked the housekeeper in the hallway to please remove them, and I received a "That's not my job, that's Room Service's...." For me, I have always placed the Drake near the top of my hotel choices, however, I am now seeing why they are only four stars/diamonds and not 5. You should never hear that from an employee. She moved the glasses from next to my door, down a few doors and everything else remained. In the morning when I checked out, there were french fries in the hallway and several food plates. The quality of the room was good, and the Concierge service was AMAZING! Both women that we talked with were excellent with recommendations and reservations. The front desk staff was very nice, so overall it was fine, but you never tell a customer no when it's something simple.

Room Tip: It's a great location, so any room is decent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I'd like to thank you for sharing your observations on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that the front desk and concierge were accommodating however I was pained by your comments about our housekeeping staff. I can assure you "no" is not in The Drake's vocabulary.It is our standard to assist whoever, whenever, however we can. Please, alert management immediately of any displeasure you face during your next stay. In the meantime, I'd like to speak with you directly about your experience. If you would, please email me your contact information and TripAdvisor name and I'll reach out immediately. Thank you.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first stay at The Drake. The lobby, restaurant and staff were all within my expectations and quite lovely. The room we had was very surprisingly sub-par. The mattresses and pillows not comfortable, peeling wallpaper and heating not working properly. We reported these items at exit so hopefully this is an isolated incident they will take care of and not something that is throughout.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank luvnit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
While I'm pleased that our lobby, restaurant and staff met your expectations it weighs quite heavily on me that you did not find your accommodations to be up to par. I'd like to thank you for alerting our staff to the conditions you described and I assure you this is an isolated incident. I'd like to speak with you more regarding your time with us. If you'd please, email me your contact information and TripAdvisor name I'd greatly enjoy connecting with you directly. Thank you.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Drake is a great hotel to stay at when shopping the Magnificent Mile. Good location, with predictably pleasant rooms, and friendly service. There are restaurants within the hotel, and a nice breakfast buffet is available to get you started for a fun day of shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnh3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My sister and I took our mom for a Christmas weekend love it. The room we booked was the family room it was amazing . You will only find that amount of space in one of Chicago classic hotel. I checked the newer ones and the room were all smaller. The staff was great had coffee room service ever morning. Beatuiful view of the lake. Location was perfect, we were able to walk every where. Will return next year.
We had drinks in the bar good times. Love the drake it's a big part of chicagos history. Everyone should stay there once.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank buns2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You don't need to read a review to know that the historic Drake Hotel is simply gorgeous. However, it is worth noting that unlike many luxury hotels, what sets the Drake apart for me is the personal care they take to welcome you and tailor your stay according your needs. Every guest is special, here. The rooms are beyond comfortable and the customer service really is impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,969 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing