We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great classy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #81 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

On Business in Cold Chicago, but felt super warm and welcomed at this charming historic hotel! Loved the very spacious rooms and the warm cozy bath robe waiting for me in the room! Super quiet room in the middle of downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Warm, Welcomed, Charmed and Cozy... that is exactly how we like our guests! Thank you for staying with us on your January business trip to blisteringly cold Chicago. We hope you will join us again, perhaps in the summer, to truly take advantage of The Drake's location on the Magnificent Mile.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,975 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Though reviews on Trip Advisor are useless since they only allow moderate to good reviews and reject bad ones (done it to me twice), that's TripAdvisor's cheating customers out of all reviews, this hotel is really fantastic so nothing for them to censor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I came for our anniversary. It is a beautiful European style old world hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice valet--just a note, parking is $65 per night, which is excessive even for Chicago, not the valets fault mind you.
Our check in at the front desk left much to be desired, pretentiousness at its best. We arrived early and were able to check in--for an extra $25. I really wanted to freshen up, so we decided to check in anyway. However, I was perplexed by the charge when the room was available! That just didn't sit well with me.
We shopped and ate our way through Chicago, came back to our room for a bit in the afternoon to rest and then took off again for dinner. If you are interested in a fantastic romantic restaurant, try Le Colonial.
Upon returning to our room after dinner, we were pleasantly surprised by a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, compliments of the hotel. Very nice touch!
The room itself was very large, with a small flat screen TV, a comfy bed and nice traditional classic decor. The bathroom was small but useable. There was also a safe in the room, a robe, coffee maker, iron, but just so-so amenities in the bathroom. I was a little disappointed.
All in all, I liked it here. I felt like I was back in Europe. Would I come back? Probably not, but not because of the property, but because there are so many wonderful hotels in Chicago that aren't so pretentious and that don't charge for every little thing.
I would also like to interject here that we are Hilton Gold members but sure didn't feel like it. The executive lounge was closed for "remodeling" so that was a let down. We did receive free wifi, and also were given breakfast coupons for the cafe. However, that was about the extent of it.
We did have a great anniversary, and for that I am thankful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

First and foremost, I am so pleased to read you had a great anniversary and that the complimentary cake was delivered for you to enjoy after dinner. I am deeply troubled, however, by some of your other observations. Even if you were not a Hilton Gold member it is our policy to treat everyone as such. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you further. If you will be so kind as to email me your TripAdvisor name and the best time/way to contact you I will reach out at your earliest convenience.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great location, rooms are clean & quiet, service is very good. Fitness Room has many Treadmills, Breakfast service was good quality. Valet parking takes hassle out of parking. Friendly staff, heating system was a bit noisy (water).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank JKWMattawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Drake is a Great place to stay when in Chicago and gives access to many great places to visit while in Chicago. The hotel is located is the best spot to gain access to anything and everything you may want to see or visit. Great Hotel with great food nd steps away from everything

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations on TripAdvisor! When The Drake family purchased the land from the Palmer family almost 100 years ago I wonder if they had the foresight to imagine how perfect the location would truly be. To that, I'm glad you found it convenient during your stay.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I stay at The Drake Hotel at least once a year when visiting Chicago city and won't stay anywhere else. The location is right next to the shopping district and not a far cab to the beach or stadium. They have a terrific steak restaurant on the first floor that you have to try at least once. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We look forward to hosting you again! Let us know on facebook or twitter when you're headed in so we can make sure your next stay is a memorable one!

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for a short visit during a very cold period and spent more time at the hotel than planned. The Coq D'OR is relaxing, particularly after a long trek to the city. Absolutely everyone at this hotel was wonderful, even the other guests. Food was great, beautiful, historic, comfortable, great location and safe.

Room Tip: Great AAA rates available at this time of year
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £112 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing