We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greate location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #77 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greate location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel location is great. Its right besides the beach and shopping area.
You can walk 3mins to the beach to enjoy the sun and go back shower and then get ready for shopping.
Hotel looks very nice and elegance and make you feel like go back to the old times.
The bed is one of the most comfortable bed among the hotels i stayed.

However, i do find the facilities in the room is a bit older compared to other modern hotels.
My room is right besides the corner and face the beach. However, since the floor is low, it is a bit noise at night. You can hear the cars passing by very clearly.

Nevertheless, it's a great experience. and they do have a awsome afternoon tea.

Room Tip: pick a higher floors to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ff1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    1,052
    416
    220
    113
See reviews for
687
1,192
164
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place is very well located. It is right by Michigan lake in a very pretty Chicago area. I have enjoyed the room and the view. It almost felt like I was at the beach.

Staff is very very professional and amicable.

I really enjoyed my experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We love staying at the Drake. This is an older hotel but very beautiful and well-kept. We've stayed here several times when visiting Chicago. Location is great at the north end of Michigan Avenue. Holidays are an extra-special time to stay at the Drake!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and get a room with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmpul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa,Kansas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful and location is perfect to walk to most shopping and even to Navy Pier. My Granddaughter enjoyed the A G store, lunch and the American Girl hotel package although disappointed about milk and cookies only one night of stay. This hotel is not cheap and probably only a one time experience with children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful. Reception and public areas are very nicely decorated and very appealing. We had an Executive Suite which was wonderful. A good hairdryer and ample toiletries which were replenished daily. Buffet breakfast was included and was plentiful with enough choice to suit most tastes. The service staff were very friendly and efficient. A couple of things which are the only reasons I didn't score the hotel as excellent were: Cape Cod - we dined in the restaurant but it was uncomfortably cold in there. The air conditioning was excessively cold, so much so that we felt we rushed our very expensive meal to get out into a warmer room. The areas around the lifts (elevators) and corridors also had very cold spots. Also, valet parking is very expensive. As foreigners we didn't know where public parking was so took the valet option. Dropped the car off on arrival and didn't use it again until 3 days later to get back to the airport. An expensive option considering we didn't actually use the valet much. (We needed the car as we had driven to Michigan, but maybe next time we would drop the car back to the airport and return to the hotel for our stay and get a cab back to the airport for our flight).
We love the hotel location and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I absolutely love the Drake. It's an older hotel but the elegance and glamour is still all there. The rooms are a great size. Our room actually had 2 bathrooms in it. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The location is amazing for all your Chicago sights. The holidays are a great time to visit because the hotel is decorated beautifully. Worth walking by even if you don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi8tcuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for a week and had a great experience. The location is perfect. The hotel was gorgeous. The valet and curb staff were top notch. The best part, as someone with a random daily schedule, was that room maintenance made up my room pretty much whenever it was convenient for me between 10am-2pm. There is nothing worse than being woken up at 8am, while still occupying the bed, with a 'now-or-never' cleaning option.

My only complaints are the fact that there is no full length mirror in the rooms, and for a hotel that charges as much as they do, there is no complimentary WiFi or even a minimal continental breakfast. $20 for a bagel, fruit and coffee option is a little much.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have great lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing