We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #79 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

the food at cape cod was not up to the mark. the lobster thermidor was unsatisfactory. the crab cakes was good. overall a very unsatisfactory meal. i have eaten in a quite a few seafood restaurants around the world and this seems to near the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank julian383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Julian ,
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your most recent dining with us. I sincerely regret to read that your experience fell below your expectation in Cape cod with the lobster thermidor.

I can be contacted at 312-932-4687, or at herve.cuyeu@hilton .com

I look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you should your travels bring you back our way at the Drake.

Sincerely,

Herve Cuyeu
Executive Chef
Drake Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,854
    1,064
    419
    226
    116
See reviews for
696
1,205
166
1,050
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I chose this hotel based on the promises from their website for a very special birthday weekend for my husband. Here is what we were promised: Luxurious guest rooms with twice a day housekeeping service, plush terry bathrobes, high style furniture, luxurious marble bathroom and savor the Windy City from any one of our Deluxe Rooms.

The bell and valet staff were very professional and helpful. Front desk clerk when checking in was formal.

Our room was a beautifully historic room however the bed skirt was dirty and stained and the high style furniture was dusty and very nicked up. No plush terry robes were in sight but the worst part was the beautiful view we were promised. Our window was so disgustingly dirty and covered in cobwebs with tiny bugs all entwined in it that you seriously could not see out the window. Our view from the 2nd floor was of a nasty rooftop section. Day two we were not restocked with coffee, glasses, sugar, creamer and opened sugar packets remained by the coffee pot. We still had one packet of coffee left so we decided to let it go. The following day still no restock so we had to call down and request. We were told how sorry they were and they would send some up along with vouchers for free breakfast for two. Well we received our coffee but of course no vouchers. On the day of check out we called down for a bell man 3 times before one showed up 45 minutes later. He stated he was sorry but the desk never let him know we had called. We finally got our Tahoe from Valet and loaded and noticed two large ink blot stains on the leather console that we have still been unable to get out.

Rooms are very noisy. You can hear person in next room talking. This hotel could be a real gem but management has failed it greatly. It needs a good cleaning! I emailed management with my concerns several days ago and have never received an email back. I will never return to the Drake Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ginger S,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay you had with us, I have not received any correspondence from you and encourage you to forward it to me at kathryn.m.day@hitlon.com at your earliest convenience, or call me directly here at the hotel at 3129324505 so I can assist to resolve this for you and see what I can do to ensure you do to choose to stay with us again. I look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Sincerely,
Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've frequented the Drake for 40 years and recently witnessed its downturn into a ho-hum chain hotel. Those unique qualities of distinction are gone as the hotel needs repair and upkeep - plumbing, floor lobbies, e.g. Location is great, as is the Drake's rich history and old school elegance. However, those little details that made it special no longer prevail.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank lawrence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear lawrence S,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Drake Hotel Chicago. I am sorry you feel the hotel is no longer as special and would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback in person at a time convenient to you. I can be contacted at 3129324505.

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
418 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for a weekend and had a wonderful time. The Hotel lobby was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers. We used the hotel concierge several times and unfortunately we felt misled. We asked for a reasonably priced steakhouse and they sent us to Rosebud's. It was a very expensive meal and the aged meat tasted rotten. We also asked for a great hot dog and they sent us to Portillo's. The hot dog was cold and the Big Beef Sub had no flavor. It was a Cute fast food restaurant but I am sure not the best hot dog in Chicago. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was quite nice and clean but the bed actually sloped down on each side due to years of use. The sheets and pillows were very soft. The workout room was excellent. Lot's of different modern exercise machinery, lot's of fresh towels and was much like a private spa. The Hotel had several restaurants and some were surprisingly reasonably priced.
One lesson from the trip was to use TripAdvisor for the restaurants as later I read the reviews on the restaurants and they were very accurate and better than using a concierge. I would definitely stay at the Drake again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEvoyeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear LEvoyeur,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us at The Drake Chicago. I appreciate your candor with regards to the quality of your mattress, as well as the recommendations of our team of concierge. I have passed your feedback to my team. I am glad you enjoyed the gym and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had problems with a noisy room near the elevators my first night at this hotel. After contacting the front desk I was immediately moved to quieter room for the remainder of my stay. Additionally, the fitness facilities were very nice and the hotel breakfast was great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Cynthia L,

Apologies with regards your first room and the noise disturbance. I am so glad we could move you and you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver lake
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came downtown for a concert. Wanted nice hotel ........called for room service, a pot of coffee @9 am. Took over an hour.
Thats not what I'd expect from Michigan Ave hotel.
Not sure I would go back. Yes, its only coffee. But that's the point.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mep604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mep604,

I am dispointed that we did not deliver in terms of service during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly at 3129324505 so i can discuss with you what i can possibly do to ensure you will consider staying with us again.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Kind regards,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the Drake while on business and enjoyed the high ceilings, marble bathroom, big closets and great service. This a really nice place with a lot of character and I had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear axr4,

Thank you for your five star review of your recent stay with us. I am excited that you enjoyed our decor and the features of the hotel. My team are looking forward to welcome you back again in the very near future,

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing