We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #83 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in one of the lake-view junior suites for our honeymoon. We loved the location and the atmosphere of the suite and the hotel in general. The entire staff was welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet was included with our stay; while a far cry from the incredible Sunday Brunches the Drake once served, it was a pleasant start to each day. If I have one complaint, it would be on the housekeeping side. It's sad to see such a beautiful room tarnished by mold and mildew in the stand-up shower and a thick accumulation of dust around and under the furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 64jbdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was there for a convention. The hotel was beautiful, old style furnishings etc.
Unfortunately there were many steps and staircases to get from one conference room to the other which was uncomfortable for my not so young knees.
The staff were helpful and the ambience lovely. Location to high end shopping was great, an!d also to restaurants. I would visit again

Room Tip: I was on the eighth floor. Looked out onto a commercial building. Would have preferred a lake view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jas207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Drake & had a very enjoyable hotel stay. Upon arriving our car was unloaded immediately & luggage tagged. Check in was quick with a friendly staff. We were in our room within minutes. Room was nice. Location was great, right off Mich. Ave. lake views. We had a complimentary bottle of champaign delivered to our room. No idea why. Hotel included restaurants, shops, workout room, meeting rooms, etc. would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Would have been nice to have had more storage i.e. chest of drawers for clothes. Was nice to be able to control your own room temperature. Fixtures in room and bath room were authentic to the period of building. Would have been nice to have had less hotel stock in the refrigerator. Housekeeping service was excellent. They were very friendly always saying hello. Bell hop service was lacking. Upon arrival no one offered to assist in the off loading of luggage or assisted in taking luggage to the room upon check-in. For people with disabilities, the hotel was deficient in elevator space also too many stairs. People with disabilities were required to use the service elevators to get to floors.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Drake is a family favorite. With our party of 5 that included 3 teenagers, the accommodations with two adjoining rooms with the large master suite including an entertainment/lounge area was perfect. The proximity to shopping, dining, Oak St. Beach, and sights right on Lake Michigan is A1.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank rebeccamU6302VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Drake is a very fine and exquisite hotel close to all of what the Miracle Mile has to offer. Although pricy, it was well worth it for the experience of fine dinning, excellent shopping, and proximity to many places of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xmatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Drake was a lovely hotel with many amenities and a gracious and helpful staff.It is within walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, and the lake. It is right off Michigan Ave if you enjoy high end shopping. Downtown has been revitalized since my last visit many, many years ago. Flower boxes and sidewalk flower gardens everywhere.I even spotted a couple of little grazing rabbits in a small garden. People were friendly and helpful wherever we wandered. I attended a conference at The Drake and felt the rooms to be nice size, very clean and the bedding comfortable. There were venues inside the hotel for gatherings to enjoy quick bites and coffee or meals and drinks. There were a couple of snafus regarding internet access and it was a bit difficult for folks with mobility issues due to the multi-level areas, but I think the hotel tried to work these challenges out. Overall I had a very good experience and woul definitely stay here again

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the shopping area and lake views. I personally chose less expensive view - ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathleene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#16 of 191 in Chicago
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £86 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing