We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Beauty”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vintage Beauty”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This property is just lovely - a reminder of the elegance of hotels in days gone by. All of the public areas are beautifully maintained, and appointed in a fashion befitting this property. Our room had a lovely view, but was a little small. The sleeping room was clean & very comfortable. The bathroom, while well appointed, was less than sparkling. Dirt and whatever else had accumulated in the corners around the tub and on top of the baseboards. Housekeeping just missed this area, I suppose. The staff were more than accomodating. They were more than polite, and accomodated every need. The location was great for shopping and just a couple of blocks from the Lake. The parking situation is a little weird - the garage associated with the hotel is more than a block away from the hotel, while there is a public garage right next door. It's inconvenient for those of us who choose not to utilize the Valet parking. I would have appreciated having a refrigerator rather than the minibar straight from the 80's, but it was fine. Having a coffee bar on premises was marvelous! All in all - the room was a bit disappointing, but the staff were marvelous. Not convenient for Wrigley Field, but the shopping made up for that.

Room Tip: Choose the largest room or suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Emily H,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Drake Chicago. I appreciate your candid feedback on the cleanliness of your room, and the fridge in your room. Thank you for acknowledging my team of staff. I am proud of the service they provide to our guests, and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    1,086
    431
    231
    118
See reviews for
721
1,233
173
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This Grand old hotel is like an old Duchess, she may look a little old world round the edges, but she's all class when you take a closer look! From arriving and going up the staircase to the reception desk you know your not in a standardised modern chain hotel. The place has some grand and historical features. Try afternoon tea in the Palm Court or a cocktail/beer in the Coq d'or and you get a feeling of the history and class of the place.
We booked a British Airways package, that included a lake view room. The room 129 was large, comfortable and had a good bathroom. However, certain things let it Down. Firstly, the room had a poor view of the lake, due to its first floor level, we could just about see it through the trees over the road. Secondly, first floor rooms on the lake side are subject to noise from the roof top air conditioning units. This may cause some people problems, but we found it bearable and didn't loose sleep. Rooms on this side of the hotel are also subject to traffic noise from Lake Shore drive! So if noise is an issue for you avoid lower floors at the rear of the hotel!
Although the bathroom was good we did have problems. Firstly, the sink blocked up. This was dealt with promptly by maintenance, so no complains. But hot water was an issue during our stay. Although it was adequate for showering it was not hot enough for taking a bath. Also in a hotel of this standard why was there no shower gel or bathrobes?
My last small moan is not just directed at the The Drake. I can't understand why hotels still charge for WiFi. It's free in airport lounges, coffee shops etc. why charge $12.95 it takes a little
Gloss of the establishment in my opinion! A plus point is that our room had tea and coffee making facilities, a first in my experience for American hotels.
However, the hotel is still a great place to stay when in Chicago and retains a feeling of grand hotels of the passed. Service was excellent and helpful. Location is good and not far from b
Bloomingdales and the Hancock building,

Room Tip: Be aware that lake view rooms are at the rear of the hotel and therefore suffer from increased noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Drake over the Air Show weekend. The place is so grand and historic and beautifully appointed, it truly is like stepping back in time. The bed was soooo comfortable, lakeside view fantastic. The service was truly over the top, I was celebrating my birthday and when I got back to the room the first night there was a beautiful chocolate cake with fresh fruit waiting in my room. The concierge staff were terrific with ideas for restaurants, side trips, etc All the staff went out of their way to make me comfortable. Location is fantastic for anything you want to do within walking distance. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high view lakeside room for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bjbear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about The Drake says' Old School class' from the large lobby to the wide halls, the dark lower level bar, and mirrored elevators that have carpeting and benches! Good AC, helpful concierges, friendly staff and a great location. You can walk to the beach and stroll down the magnificent mile. We walked almost everywhere we needed to go - and the red line to get to Wrigley isn't far. They treat you with care whether you want to spend a lot or a little. Lots of business travelers, as well as families -- and plenty of baseball fans! I would have rated it EXCELLENT except they don't provide free WiFI unless you have gold or silver Hilton Honors.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joni443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I saw this Grand Hotel back in the 70's. as a teenager. I never forgot how beautiful it was. Since my daughter now lives in Chicago, this hotel is my new home away from home. If you like old world service, attention to detail, and location, this is your winner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGAPRO2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We love to spend our anniversary weekend at the Drake. We come the weekend of the air and water show and are never disappointed. We always get a room with a view if the lake. The Drake us perfectly situated to enjoy the show in the beach, from our room or the executive lounge. We love, love Ben and Carlos. They are the friendly faced the greet you upon arrival and as you take off for the days adventures. We always close out the evening in the lounges upstairs or down the entertainment is top notch.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleLady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at The Drake for 6 nights in Aug. We're huge baseball fans and went for the 100th annivers of Wrigley. Choose the Drake for its location and old time elegance. Great choose! Service was top notch. Friendly but never stuffy. Concierge Ronald? was very helpful. No need to rent a car, public transport easy and safe. Bike rentals right outside. If your looking for a hotel with character,charm,location and excellent service this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank cindyg239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing