We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Character Meets Exceptional Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #93 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Character Meets Exceptional Value”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Millenium Knickerbocker offers the character of a boutique hotel with the value of a premier urban property. Rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. The rainfall shower required a bit of effort to regulate water pressure, but once that was resolved it was very nice. The lobby is spacious and attractive. The lobby bar was well stocked, service was very good, and prices reasonable for Chicago. The staff was attentive, friendly, and capable.

My lone complaint is the price for parking at the hotel. At $63 for overnight parking, it is more expensive than several of the surrounding garages, including the Drake located across the street ($42).

I've been a big fan of the Drake, but the Knickerbocker is now on my list of preferred Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTripper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about your room and the service you received from our staff.

We appreciate your feedback on the cost of overnight parking. We have done a study of hotel parking costs in the area and our prices are comparable with these hotels. The parking cost includes full valet services as well as in and out privileges.

We are delighted to hear that the Knickerbocker is now on your list of preferred Chicago hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    413
    142
    52
    32
See reviews for
204
389
55
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Friends recommended the hotel and we were very impressed. Loved the old character and charm with updated amenities. Perfect location and we walked everywhere. We arrived late our first night and the front desk staff were excellent in recommending a nearby restaurant for a late dinner. Will definitely choose the same hotel next time we're in Chicago.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mom22gurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to read the praises of our recent guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your recognition of our “perfect location” and “excellent” staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Can't beat the location. Hotel was bigger than I thought. I guess I'm used to New York boutique hotel's which are shoe boxes. This was large and nice. Everything was great. Park across the street at Drake for $42. The hotel charges I believe $67 for basically the same thing. You can also go to walgreens a few blocks over and get a flex unlimited bus/subway pass for $10 a day. We used that, very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdgreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We are happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our “great location”. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Chicago!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
1,685 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 190 in Chicago
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing