We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Institution That's a Great Hotel Option in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #94 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Institution That's a Great Hotel Option in Chicago”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A beautifully decorated hotel. Spacious lobby. Nice little nooks with almost Victorian Style decorating that makes you feel at home, but also makes one feel the prestige associated with a 5 star hotel. Staff was extremely helpful. Help was much appreciated given that I had stayed at the MKH during my very first trip to Chicago (and the States). Concierge was extremely helpful in giving my dad and I directions, tips, and assistance re: securing tickets and getting to and from the hotel and the United Center for an Eric Clapton and Steve Winwood Concert. Located perpendicular to the tail end of the Magnificent Mile. Located near many shopping spots, restaurants, and a number of historical landmarks. Ate breakfast at their restaurant ("Nix") a couple of times too and the food was value for money. If I ever do make it back to the Windy City, I am definitely going to stay at the MKH.

*Late review though, as I was at the MKH in June 2009*

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MigiCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about the concierge and are happy to hear that they helped make your stay even more enjoyable. My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    402
    136
    52
    32
See reviews for
197
376
55
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I recently stayed at Millennium Knickerbocker Dec 27th-Jan 5th and overall it met & in many ways exceeded my expectations. Super friendly staff who you really got to know Sam, Steven, Heirberto. Everyone was eager to help. In particular they were really flexible letting my girlfriend checking in when my flight was delayed (we were traveling from different locations).

The hotel has a certain charm and I would definitely recommend it over a Sheraton or Hilton if you want a more personalised Chicago experience. There are probably fancier, slicker hotels around but I don't think you will find many at the same price point with the same welcome & service.

The superior king was a good size and I thought great value for money for a city the size of Chicago. The location is great too right off the Magnificent Mile. While breakfast isn't included....this isn't a deal breaker as there are plenty of diners around (although free coffee would be nice) & the food in the hotel is decent also. The wifi in the lobby was strong & free - I still think its ridiculous that you need to pay 10 bucks a day for wifi in your room but this seems to be common for most U.S. hotels.

The only issue which left a sour note were the phone charge for usage of our hotel room phone - or rather the miscommunication around this. My girlfriend asked the front desk where/how she could make a long distance call & it was suggested that she could use a call card from our room phone - despite using the card on all calls we ended up with a bill for $300. I think cautioning against using any kind of phone card in future would be preferable as this (given the card was used & had not expired & was used for all calls - we are not that green!) I was pretty shocked to see these charges. I think there was an element of miscommunication here on the part of the front desk & some flexibility on this would have been appreciated. It was not to be.

This aside I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel & would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the superior king is worth the extra few bucks. Ask for a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your kind remarks about our team members are highly valued and I will make sure to share them with the rest of our staff.

Comments like yours enable our continuous pursuit of improvement in our services and facilities. I will certainly address the concern regarding communication about calling card charges with the head of the pertaining department.

We hope that you had a wonderful trip to Chicago and thank you again for sharing your review.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aledo, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Due to the Amtrak trains being cancelled, I was forced to spend 3 more days in Chicago. I had always wanted to stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker, so I left my first hotel to go to this one.

Upon entering the hotel I was impressed with the beautiful decor. This is definitely a world-class hotel. The check in was friendly and efficient. I was sent up to room 402 which was nicely appointed. The room was very comfortable. It's not as large as some people have accustomed to, but if you're used to European hotels you will find this one nice and spacious. The bathroom was beautiful and the rain shower was a nice touch (though it takes forever to get hot water and the water pressure leaves some to be desired). The bath amenities were a nice touch as well. The room was CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. Not a smudge nor a stray hair in the room. The room was quiet and I am sad that I had to leave.

The location is absolutely perfect. I cannot stress how much I loved it. It's steps away from Water Tower Place and the Contemporary Art Museum,

I ate at the restaurant a total of 3 times: twice for breakfast and once for lunch on my last day. The service was excellent and the food was very delicious as well.A nice touch to the perfect stay.

As I said in my title, this is my new favorite hotel in Chicago. You feel special the moment you arrive until the sad moment where you have to leave. I can't say enough good things about this spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogentais1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to read the praises of our recent guests and we thank you for taking the time from your day to share your experience. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the room to our location and the Nix restaurant to our “excellent” service. We hope that you return soon and stay at your “new favorite hotel in Chicago”.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Millenium Knickerbocker offers the character of a boutique hotel with the value of a premier urban property. Rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. The rainfall shower required a bit of effort to regulate water pressure, but once that was resolved it was very nice. The lobby is spacious and attractive. The lobby bar was well stocked, service was very good, and prices reasonable for Chicago. The staff was attentive, friendly, and capable.

My lone complaint is the price for parking at the hotel. At $63 for overnight parking, it is more expensive than several of the surrounding garages, including the Drake located across the street ($42).

I've been a big fan of the Drake, but the Knickerbocker is now on my list of preferred Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTripper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about your room and the service you received from our staff.

We appreciate your feedback on the cost of overnight parking. We have done a study of hotel parking costs in the area and our prices are comparable with these hotels. The parking cost includes full valet services as well as in and out privileges.

We are delighted to hear that the Knickerbocker is now on your list of preferred Chicago hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Friends recommended the hotel and we were very impressed. Loved the old character and charm with updated amenities. Perfect location and we walked everywhere. We arrived late our first night and the front desk staff were excellent in recommending a nearby restaurant for a late dinner. Will definitely choose the same hotel next time we're in Chicago.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mom22gurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to read the praises of our recent guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your recognition of our “perfect location” and “excellent” staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Can't beat the location. Hotel was bigger than I thought. I guess I'm used to New York boutique hotel's which are shoe boxes. This was large and nice. Everything was great. Park across the street at Drake for $42. The hotel charges I believe $67 for basically the same thing. You can also go to walgreens a few blocks over and get a flex unlimited bus/subway pass for $10 a day. We used that, very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdgreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We are happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our “great location”. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Chicago!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,644 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,797 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,537 reviews
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#100 of 190 in Chicago
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing