We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Jordan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Good choice for a hotel. Lot's of history. Great price, clean and a great location on the Miracle mile. Very near restaurants, shopping and museums. Fabulous ballroom. There was a wedding on Saturday night which provided us with great people watching. Excellent steak restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMotherMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel during your recent stay in Chicago. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our “fabulous” Crystal Ballroom. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    381
    124
    47
    30
See reviews for
177
346
48
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed and attended a workshop at the hotel. It was older, slightly run down but still gracious and elegant. A little like the once handsome elderly gentleman who still carries a handkerchief in his suitcoat pocket. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I needed wifi access for my workshop, which was spotty. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to note that you found that staff to be “friendly and very accommodating”.

We apologize that you found the WiFi access to be “spotty” during your workshop. Comments like yours enable our continuous pursuit of improvements in our facilities. I will certainly address this concern with the head of our pertaining department for immediate action.

We hope you’ll return to Chicago and stay with us again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Spent the weekend in Chicago. Lots of people to visit and the Knickerbocker is on Michigan Avenue with amazing service. I was there during the single digit weather and everything was so close, I hardly noticed the weather.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms right over the entrance, no matter how high. You will hear everyone leaving an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BeKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our “perfect” location with “amazing service”. We hope to welcome you back soon- possibly in the summer when Chicago is at its best!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I wanted my teenage girls to experience a traditional and storied hotel near the magnificent mile, so I chose an area that I once lived in to share the experience with them. The old elegance of the Knickerbocker, coupled with the nice room updates made it a pleasant stay for the three of us!

The service from door to desk to room and back to door was great. The employees were fun, engaging, helpful and professional. I will take them there again as you cannot beat the location, ambiance and energy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your daughters greatly enjoyed your stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel and that you found the staff to be “fun, engaging, helpful and professional”. We hope that you had an enjoyable trip and look forward to your next visit with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

wife and i stayed here as a layover in Chicago, we had 6 kids with us as well, the hotel is in a very convenient place very close to watertower place for great shopping. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful advising us of various things to see and do and good places to eat, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztourist42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you found the staff to be “very friendly and helpful”. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjmacone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I'll TRY to keep this short,
I am a server, I am not rich, I don't go on a lot of vacations, but my girlfriends birthday is the day before New Years Eve and we wanted a nice trip to Chicago to visit one of her friends.
We chose the Millennium because it was part of a great package deal through Southwest.com.
We arrived (when our plane arrived) in the am, around 11. Not only did they allow us to check in but the lady at the desk was very friendly and upon hearing we were celebrating not only NYE but also Jessica's birthday, she gave us two drink tickets for free drinks to the martini bar in the hotel, without any prompting or complaining from us.
We also dealt with the Manager of rooms, Gus. There was mix up on the charge, and part of it was charged to the wrong card. Gus, not only quickly cleared up the issue but also went above and beyond, calling my bank directly to solve the problem and then called our room to make sure everything was all set. From Gus, to the nice lady at the front desk, to the person who got us coffee in the morning, to the Concierge who helped us multiple times, to the Bellman who brought our bags out to our cab for us and got us a cab when the valet outside failed to do so, we had an outstanding experience.

Again, the thing I can't emphasize enough is the fact that we were not big spenders, we were not rich, we were not in a 'suite' and yet we were treated excellent. Ive never had such an all around great experience at a hotel of this caliber. Thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: bathroom door is a 'fancy' sliding door, not super private… If you are on business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmacone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We love to read the praises of our recent guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our dedicated staff greatly appreciates your kind comments. We hope that you had an enjoyable time in Chicago ringing in the New Year and celebrating your girlfriend’s birthday. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Chicago I felt right at home staying at the Millenium Knickerbocker. The hotel was so neat and quaint, and dare I say quiet, which I prefer over noisy, heavily trafficked hotels. I wanted to stay someplace nearby major retailers and dining establishments, which the MKH, is right around the corner from the Magnificent Mile, so it was the perfect location for a guy like myself to go out and explore. I didn't spend a lot of time in my room # 301, but the time spent was a bed of ease; however, I wish the hotel had more of an expansive list of tv channels and free wifi. If you're looking for affordability convenience and quality, MKH is where you should stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LonelyBoyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you felt “right at home” while staying at the hotel and that you enjoyed our central location. Please note that we do offer free WiFi in our lobby and mezzanine levels.

We hope that you’ll visit Chicago for a second time in the near future and stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,386 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Drake Hotel
The Drake Hotel
#77 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing