We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #99 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a wonderful trip to Chicago and couldn't have picked a better location. The hotel is just off the Magnificent Mile so terrific shopping was right at hand as well as so many first class restaurants in the Chicago north side neighborhood. The staff were very kind, especially Charlie our doorman who always had a big smile for us; he was incredibly welcoming and fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place is excellent and I would recommend to anyone. The restaurant, bar, lobby and rooms were all clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. The location is fantastic.

Instead of paying $65/night to park our car w/a valet at the hotel, we parked in a public garage at Orleans & Hubbard and paid $28/night. We didn't mind and for a difference of almost $40/night, we didn't mind the extra walk as we walked all around during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BadBadMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the room is modernized style and clean. The only issue is some staff may not be very helpful with their duty which includes concierge who does not have answers on several tourist questions, bell man who does not open the door but standing next to the door that you need to be careful while pushing open it. We got a promotion deal which we are not expect high quality service. But to the people who pay regular price, you may want to be prepared that the hotel service may short of your money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkcatmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spend 4 nights at the hotel. I'm rating as an excellent hotel because of its location (close to Michigan ave. and easy access to the lake front boardwalk and beaches). It was quite at night even with the windows open! Room was clean, bed comfortable, with commodities such as air dryer, coffee maker, safe and nice rain shower! :)
I would recommand to all my friends that visit Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

One of my favourite hotels - we had an adjoining room with a friend who had arrived a lot earlier then us due to our being delayed but she was allowed in her room and spent a great time at the bar waiting for us.

The staff are excellent and very very helpful - especially the 'older' gentleman concierge and the bar staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You really cannot go wrong staying here. It's a small, stylish historic hotel with an intimate boutique atmosphere to it. It has the air of a place that people "in the know" would stay at. You're going to feel a bit special - and smart - for picking it. For the price, location, and comfort, it's perfect.

I was initially a bit worried about being so close to the bustle of Michigan Ave, but the location of the hotel is one of its best features. It's about a block north of where the real touristy, shopping portions end, so it's quiet and tucked away from the chaos while simultaneously very close to high-end shopping and sights. You're near to the Red Line on Chicago Ave., and you're also right at the intersection of quite a few bus routes (If you're feeling adventurous, that is. Just ask the concierge for some tips; it's honestly one of the easiest ways to move about the city). You are not going to have difficulty getting where you need to go.

Staff was exceptionally kind, quick, and friendly. Room was clean. The king-sized bed was plush and restful, and the pillows are super soft, which is a must for me. Bathrooms are clean, chic, and modern; I always looked forward to showering. Everything was cozy, comfortable, and well designed.

And make sure to stop by the bar downstairs. They have a couple cocktails that will really hit the spot after a day around town.

Just stop looking around for a place to pick for your stay in Chicago. You've found it. This is it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank matthartzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service was excellent. Terrific location. Close to buses, shopping and Lake Shore Drive. Room is well-designed and updated. Lobby is open and welcoming. Front desk personnel, concierge and wait staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value. We will definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to any traveler to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#108 of 192 in Chicago
1,807 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £65 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing