We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, wonderful little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #96 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, wonderful little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My girlfriend and I had an excellent experience at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel in Chicago. The room was pleasant and quiet, the location was perfectly situated at the end of the Magnificent Mile and near the beginning of Rush. The staff in Nix were very attentive and though we only had breakfast there each morning, it was wonderful. We had terrific martini's in the nice lounge bar. This was the perfect place for our little weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had an “excellent experience” at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We greatly appreciate your online review and we are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast at Nix and had “terrific” martinis at the Martini Bar.

My team and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    387
    127
    47
    30
See reviews for
182
355
50
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
346 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice Historic hotel just off Michigan Ave and across the street from The Drake Hotel. room was quiet. great king size bed. a block from the Hancock Center and 2 blocks from Water Tower shopping. Heading north there is a pedestrian access to Oak St. Beach on Lake Michigan one block from hotel. Parking is an issue at this end of Michigan Ave. they have NO arrangement with parking garages for in and out parking except at the inflated valet rate. Miffed at the high charges for internet access in room and at business center. How do the chain hotels do this at no charge for wifi they want $10??

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your room and our hotel’s central location. We appreciate your feedback on internet fees. While we do charge for Internet (as do most full service hotels), we do offer free Wi-Fi in the lobby and mezzanine levels of the hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The perfect location in Chicago, very close to all the attraction, the hancock building and the shopping malls. The room were very comfortable and the begs were excellent. The staff were really nice and helpfull. We had a great stay all the way from Sweden at this hotel!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
As a team, we greatly appreciate the recognition you provided in your review on our staff’s commitment to service. Thank you for your review. We hope that you’ll return to Chicago in the near future and stay with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was such a nice place to stay in Chicago. Right of Michigan Ave and close to everything. 25-30 minutes walk form Grant park and Navy pier. The price for the prime location was great. Very nice rooms and awesome shower! Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ConnieAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windy City!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a delightful place -- and I was here on business! Staff was welcoming (including sweet housekeeper). I never sleep my first night in a hotel but never, ever slept so good EVERY night (3) as here -- bed and feather pillows first rate. Plus, AC worked perfectly and I could set fan to high to block out any noises at night, I did not hear a thing. Breakfasts and lunches at our meeting breaks were yummy (especially Mexican lunch). Super location -- mid block between Michigan Ave and Lake Michigan. RUNNERS: Make sure to run on the path along the lake (check out Oak Street Beach). Only a 30 minute walk from Millennium Park, Art Institute and more.

Room Tip: Some of my colleagues stayed near the elevators and complained of noise, ask for a room at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It is always a delight to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are pleased to hear that you slept well and that you greatly enjoyed the meals provided during your meetings. We hope that you’ll return to the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel for a more leisurely stay!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I got this hotel after using a "name revealed after payment" booking service. It was rated a 4 star which was right on!! The hotel was amazing! The service at check in was kind and polite, and the room had very nice furnishings! This hotel is just steps of Michigan Avenue, making it an excellent choice for business people and shopping/tourism patrons alike. While rooms have little view of Chicago, we were placed towards the street side of which was very quiet. We will be back the next time our plans call for Chicago lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for all of your positive comments on your recent stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Historic hotel with classic lobby area but recently renovated rooms that are very comfortable. I had a corner king (rm. 1000) with nice views of the roof gardens across the street, very quiet (no road or hallway noise). Big bathroom with walk-in shower with double shower heads. Comfy bed. Breakfasts in Nix were good. Dinner is available at the lobby Martini Bar. A Spanish guitar duo and Flamenco dancer perform on Thursday nights (beautiful, worth stopping by). Free wifi in the lobby, fee in-room. Note: no room service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahN48824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We hope that you had an enjoyable trip to Chicago and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Spanish guitar duo and Flamenco performance! We are pleased to hear that you had a “very comfortable” stay and that you enjoyed breakfast in the Nix. Thank you for your review and we welcome your return to our hotel in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,501 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing