We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, value for area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #97 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good location, value for area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was perfect for a city trip to Chicago. It is located in the upscale Gold Coast neighbourhood which is walkable and safe. The hotel is nice, with a beautifully decorated lobby and nice martini bar. The staff were helpful, Paul gave us lots of great advice on transit and sightseeing. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the rain showers were a nice feature. Breakfast is available, but you can find better value at nearby coffee shops if you are happy with a quick bite. There is a limited selection of restaurants around the hotel, I would recommend planning ahead for dinner so you don't waste time wandering the neighbouring streets looking for a place to eat. As you walk towards the Loop, you will find more dining options.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be “perfect” for your city trip to the Windy City. We hope that you’ll visit soon and stay with at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    387
    127
    47
    30
See reviews for
182
355
50
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I was stayed for child college tour.i got deal from price line.but they are not 2 bed. We pay just$20 to get 2 bed room for my kid.it turns great. In & out side was good old nuance, I like that. But room it self ,good size for 3 people &bath room,wow! nothing special like chain hotels but my feeling was calm when I was there I will be back !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave review on TripAdvisor. It is always a delight to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope that you had good trip touring colleges. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed during a girls getaway had a double room on the third floor. The room smelled very strange when we first arrived but the second day after they cleaned it, it was a little better. We never ate breakfast or lunch it was very pricey but nice that they offer those things. The location really was the selling point for us right next to the magnificent mile and a short distance to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakenTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We hope that you had a fun “girls getaway” in Chicago. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in The Knickerbocker Hotel on Walton in Chicago. The location is 3 minutes from Oak Street Beach and 5 minutes from the junction of N State & N Rush where visitors will find a little hidden treasure of bars, restaurants and fantastic nightlife as well as great shops. The hotel is old and with plenty of character and the rooms modern and well apportioned, one little downside is having to pay for WiFi in the rooms. It's free in the Lobby, I would also like to mention the Staff really helpful and friendly. If you get a chance to stay here I would recommend you take it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel during your recent trip to Chicago. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be “really helpful and friendly”. We hope you will return to the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel upon your next trip to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of Lollapalooza. It is a lovely historic hotel, with quiet, intimate guest rooms decorated with a modern flair. Every member of the staff was wonderful and took excellent care of us. There is a tour every Friday and had I known before checking in I would have taken it, but as it was the staff shared stories of Al Capone, secret walls, and historical anecdotes. The restaurant and lounge were very nice and our room had a mini bar. My only complaint is the $11 charge for wifi. Also, parking is outrageous in this area of the city so we took the train. All in all. I would love to stay at the Knickerbocker again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurae323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to note that you found every member of staff to be “wonderful and took excellent care of us”. We look forward to welcoming both you and your husband back when you next stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Millennium Knickerbocker for a reunion of college friends in late June. The staff was extremely helpful, particularly the Concierge desk where recommendations were sought and several reservations for nearby restaurants were made. Housekeeping and support staff were also very pleasant and helpful to this group. The breakfast area and bar accommodated our needs beautifully. The bar is an attractive open area with a comfortable adjacent lounge. The Knickerbocker is a block and a half from Rush Street restaurants and half a block from Michigan Avenue. Walking access to Lake Michigan beach and walkways is also half a block away. I gave the Millennium Knickerbocker a "very good" rating, because it is not the Four Seasons and does not need to be. It was a great surprise to find this affordable, modernized and wonderful gem within walking distance to everything I wanted to see in Chicago…with a lovely staff that was anxious to support the needs of my friends and me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1apple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear your positive comments on your overall experience with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay in late June. We hope that you had a memorable time in Chicago with your college friends and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My girlfriend and I had an excellent experience at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel in Chicago. The room was pleasant and quiet, the location was perfectly situated at the end of the Magnificent Mile and near the beginning of Rush. The staff in Nix were very attentive and though we only had breakfast there each morning, it was wonderful. We had terrific martini's in the nice lounge bar. This was the perfect place for our little weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had an “excellent experience” at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. We greatly appreciate your online review and we are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast at Nix and had “terrific” martinis at the Martini Bar.

My team and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#101 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,497 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing