We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Chicago”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

3 day weekend in Chicago, no car, and two couples, where to stay? The Talbott Hotel was the perfect choice! We arrived on Friday night, exhausted, and our rooms were across the hall from one another - how convenient. We started with drinks in the bar, which turned into an excellent dinner at Bice, the Italian restaurant connected to the hotel. (They also provide room service.) The martinis were superb, and the dinners were all delicious. Late night chocolates on the pillows, friendly, helpful staff, attentive concierge with great ideas of where to go and what to see. The location is very convenient. We took the CTA from O'Hare and Midway airports, arrived 2 blocks away at the Chicago Ave. Redline stop, and were able to go to Second City, Legends, the Art Institute, Field Museum, Millenium Park, the Zoo and Lincoln Park, and anywhere else on an easy to use 3 day pass. The bus stop was right across the street if the red line didn't go where we wanted. Great choice!

Room Tip: To take advantage of the bell staff or ask someone to explain all the high tech equipment, and be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,494 - 2,500 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We flew into Chicago for a weekend getaway. The Talbott was lovely. Great location. Beautiful lobby. Friendly staff! Everyone from the doorman to the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2EastCoastTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Trust the reviews. If you demand a big hotel with all of the amenities, go elsewhere. If you want a pleasant hotel in the heart of the action but still a bit off the beaten path, The Talbott is a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickinShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Went to Chicago for a relaxing weekend after the holidays. We had often walked by Talbott in previous visits, and decided to stay here due to that and the Tripadvisor reviews.

First impressions: Very European in style, small reception area, cosy nooks with fireplaces, but most especially, extremely welcoming staff (shout out to Bellman Dewayne!).

We booked an Executive king room. It was nice and large, with comfortable king bed, nice linens, large bath the separate huge shower and soaking tub. It was very clean. I would say the carpet looked a little rough and should probably be replaced soon, but again it seemed clean. The rate was $225 per night, plus a $15 credit per person for breakfast at the adjoining restaurant, which doesn't really cover breakfast, but puts a nice dent in it.

Loved the fact they have rich bath sheets, not scrawny cheap bath towels. The room had two robes, but they were quite small and not soft, mine barely closed and I am not an overly big gal.

The state of the art TV is a hoot, with great internet options, including hooking up to your own Netflix account. The wi-fi was a little slow and spotty, but it was free, so not a problem.

Our room was right next to the elevator, and I was afraid it would be noisy, but it was nice and quiet, except for some street noises to be expected.

The only problem we encountered was the maid waking us up on our last morning when we were sleeping in. We had the privacy knob/latch turned on our door, but I don't know if it was broken or she just didn't see it. I would hazard a guess we were not the only guests who experienced this. I suggest going back to the old fashioned door hangars so this doesn't happen.

Overall it was a great stay. We appreciated feeling so welcomed each time we returned. The room was nice, and the price and location are ideal. We will be back, just please let us sleep in, we don't get to do that at home!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelvinaSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I lived in Chicago for 5 years and recently went back for a visit with my husband. We had the BEST stay at the Talbot, and I'm so excited to make this my new go-to hotel for future visits to Chicago. The staff was really accommodating and warm, the hotel is updated and beautiful. The location is amazing. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the room service was super speedy. This is a boutique hotel with character and class...like a mini Ritz at a much better value. I would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom suite for two nights over the New Years Eve weekend. Our friends also stayed in a one bedroom suite on the same floor. We all really enjoyed the rooms-from the spaciousness of the livingroom to the nice size bedroom. The bathroom was very nice with separate vanities for him and her, a water closet, separate soaking tub and shower. The doormen and baggage valet were very friendly and helpful. It's always nice to talk to locals like them to see where to eat and play!

The bar was nice and we enjoyed a few drinks there. I told the bartender how to make a drink for me and he made it perfectly. Breakfast (which was included in our package) at Bice Ristorante was good, not great. The waffles were a little bland. I would have liked to had dinner or lunch there because reviews of the restuarant from several sources were mostly very good. Oh well, next time, because all of us plan to be repeat customers at this hotel!

Room Tip: Watch for specials on this hotel. The one bedroom suites has a living room facing the street, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluizgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

During a 5- week road trip, my husband and I stayed in many hotels across the US - some less fancy and some more. We still rave about the Talbott. From the excellent service, including the concierge, to the very comfy beds to the spacious bathroom to the fabulous location in the "near north" -- everything was just about perfect. We have found our Chicago hotel and will be back there on our next visit to this great city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing