We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talbot hotel Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“Talbot hotel Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We read about the Talbott on Trip Advisor and finally stayed there this last weekend. What a perfect GEM! The Talbott is located within walking distance to all the reasons we travel to Chicago...shows, great restaurants and the Magnificent Mile for shopping. Yet at night it is peacefully quiet for a good rest. Our room was beautifully appointed and white glove clean, even providing an umbrella for a surprise rain. And what a staff...always quickly ready with smiles and gracious service. It is our new home when Chicago is our destination.

Room Tip: We had a king room, the least expensive, and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWA332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This Gold Coast property is full of olde world sophistication with the buzz of the young. From the very British entrance with its leather and photos of the fox hunt you pass to the bar and enter a world of hip. We were blessed with good weather thus we dined street side morning, noon and night. We never expected to do that considering three of our very favorite restaurants were just steps away.
Summary: Location. Large rooms. Tasty. Chic at every pass.

Room Tip: If you are looking for views, check out some other hotel. Our 11th floor view was poor but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguelacho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in a suite-corner room. It was beautiful. Loved the furniture. Very large/roomy. Had the elegance of an old aristrocratic hotel but had the updates. Flat screened TV in living room and bedroom. Bathroom was large-good lighting (which is very difficult to find in any hotels)/2 sinks (which is a must if traveling with another person(even one's spouse.) Had a bath tub and a shower and a separate little room for the toilet. Loved all the windows with the great view out the living room. The service was great. All employees referred to us by name. Had breakfast outside at the hotel and loved it. The hotel is very conveniently located. We walked to Navy Pier and along the beaches. I would highly recomment this hotel. Note that it is pricey-but worth it-especially for a special event.

Room Tip: If possible-always ask for corner suite with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKS0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were looking for a non-chain hotel on the Magnificent Mile, and chose The Talbott for its high ratings. We were not disappointed! It has an intimate feel, and the staff was super-helpful. Dwayne, our bellhop, was a wealth of helpful information, and was even able to get us moved to a larger room. Gene, the concierge, got us the reservations we needed for tours and restaurants, and recommended appropriate restaurants for our various requirements (family and late-night). While the rooms were comfortable, it was the location and staff that made our stay memorable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TAEarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Dwayne did a great job of making our stay wonderful. He made sure we were in the loop of all the hotel has to offer. His advice of modes of travel to different desitinations made it effortless for my wife and myself. We will definitely return to this hotel because of Dwayne's efforts.

Room Tip: Check on up grades
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Sharon386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Check in was quick and we were really pleased with the decor and cleanliness of our room. The bed was comfortable and considering Chicago is such a big city there was no noise from outside traffic. I use Molton Brown products at home and have never seen them in a hotel before which was a pleasant surprise. We didn't eat or have a drink in the restaurant. The location was perfect for the Hancock centre, hop on hop off bus tour and the red line l train. During my holiday I stayed in another hotel in Chicago and one in Seattle and this was superior of the three. Will be staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location in Chicago where I stayed one night. The room we had was outdated with smelly carpet and old bathroom fixtures; It looked that there is not enough ventilation and the stuffy smell in this room was not acceptable. The A/C is noisy and also smelly. The bedding however was very comfortable. Internet and TV in room is up to date. We were told that breakfast was being taking care by the restaurant which is not part of the hotel. Quite confusing. We ended up by not having breakfast there. The personnel working there was courteous, however checking out, I was not being able to get a bill for the extras that we took (mini bar) which was charged later on on my credit card. I insisted, the attendant mentioned that they would send me the bill by email and he could not give me a receipt of my hotel stay ?? as I made the reservation through American Express. 2 days later, I am still waiting for a receipt and my card got debited. Their web site is not Mac friendly and I was not able to make a reservation through their web site. So in short, The Talbott was ok for one night, however I will most likely try another hotel for my next stay in Chicago; the rooms need to be freshened up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank talamenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing