We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, great staff”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days. We were in a 1-bedroom w/ an office. Really nice hotel. Great staff. Clean room. Dominique was great. Highly recommended.

I gave them a great review on the pool & spa but I don't know if they have one.

My room included breakfast vouchers and the service at the restaurant was outstanding. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkaplan435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,134
    431
    67
    26
    16
See reviews for
532
1,164
118
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This is a top hotel. Great location and ambience. Dwayne the doorman is an absolute superstar and worth watching in action from the roadside bar terrace. A true professional who makes everybody feel like a special guest. Room large and comfortable but a little sombre. Wifi very fast. Breakfast good but pricey. Coffee and bagel across the street is a cheap alternative but this is not open till 8 am at weekends. Gene the concierge could not be more helpful. Above all just stay there to meet Dwayne.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a lovely hotel. Fabulous location. Book online to get breakfast credit. We have nothing but good things to say about the Talbott. Will certainly come back to stay here. The Little Market Brasserie was bustling and a nice place for breakfast and drinks. We didn't try dinner. Lots to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! The rooms are a great size and the only noise we heard were sirens every now and then. Our room was even next to the elevator and heard absolutely nothing. The beds were a little uncomfortable but the pillows are great. Loved having a doorbell and the options of do not disturb and clean please. If you need a fridge or microwave you can request one. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebearce1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our review starts before we even booked the room. I called the hotel for location information and Loni at the front desk spent some time giving me a run down of the area and the "must do's" while visiting Chicago for the first time. We booked on Orbitz immediately. When arriving at the Talbott we were greeted by Perry our Bellman who had our bags at the elevator before we got out of the cab. Check-in was pleasant and we were fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite which was amazing after the day we had with delays at the airport and midair. Perry took us around our room giving us lots of information about the room and surrounding area. Which The Talbott is in a good location for tons of restaurants, and shopping, and close enough to Magnificent Mile. We spent three hours walking the city one day and took a bus part way back. If you learn some of the major streets around the hotel it is easy to find your way. On the hotels recommendations list was a couple of nice places to eat. We went to Tavern on Rush which was great. The manager of Tavern asked how we found them, and when we said The Talbott he informed us that they are VERY KNOWN for having amazing customer service. Which we agreed. Getting to Wrigley Field was easy from The Talbott, we got lots of information from Gene in concierge, who was so much fun to talk to and booked us a spot on the Architectural Boat Tour which Loni had previously recommended. I recommend doing the tour at the end of the trip. Save the best for last... Our trip and experience with The Talbott Hotel turned out so much better than expected from begging to end. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have never stayed at a hotel that takes better care of customers than The Talbott. Every aspect of service is met at a high level. They are ready to meet every need. The room was also great as was the room service. The almond croissants, grilled cheese, and french fries were incredible. Reservations could be made anywhere in the city right at the desk. Will never stay anywhere else when in Chicago.

Room Tip: We preferred the quiet away from street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If, like me, you spend a long time reseaching where to stay before finally booking then I can save you some time and say just book The Talbott. The experience is top class from start to finish. We arrived early and had no problem checking in, even getting a welcome upgrade for our five day visit.

The rooms are decorated stylishly and very well maintained. The in-room computer is a welcome addition to the standard room spec at other hotels. The beds are super-comfortable and Molton Brown products in the bathroom all add to the feeling of effortless luxury.

I have to say that the hotel staff deserve particular note as they walked the fine line between friendliness and politeness effortlessly. Every single person we encountered seemed genuinely happy in their work and welcoming to both the hotel and Chicago.

I'm usually awful at writing up my own experiences on here but I seriously couldn't let such a great hotel experience go by without praise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelCleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing