We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday travel”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a beautiful place to stay for our New Years Chicago trip. Excellent staff, beautiful decor, comfortable beds and rooms were very spacious. The location was perfect. I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,960 - 1,966 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel offers a cozy lobby with dual fireplaces to get warm after coming in from the cold. We stayed on the 16th floor in a suite. The room was large and beautiful and tastefully done. The bathroom was large clean and nice. It had a separate shower and tub and sinks. The apple TV took a minute to get used to but worked well. The room mixes nicely new technology and the comforts of today with old world elegance. I was concerned at first the hotel may feel run down because of its age but that was absolutely not the case. Dwayne gave us a rundown of all the places to visit in the area as soon as we arrived. Don't miss Potash market for a nice sandwich or a few higher end grocery items. We were given a late check out without any hassle and the front desk was always nice and quickly accommodating. The only downside would be the windows that allow in a draft. This would be the only thing negative to offer about the hotel. It is also attached directly to a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner although we did not try it. It does not offer a workout facility but does offer a free pass to a club about a block away if needed. It is worth noting this hotel is a block or two away from Michigan and all the shopping that comes with it. I would give this hotel 5 stars hands down which says alot coming from me. If you are thinking of staying here you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the larger suite and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived to this picturesque hotel with a warm and welcoming staff and couldn't have been happier. The hotel rooms are spacious and finely appointed. And those warm bathroom tiles!

Jose was not only knowledgeable about the hotel and the city, but he took the time to both learn and remember all 6 of my parties names. He's made us feel welcome and been a continuing assistance while we stayed at the hotel. Thanks for making our stay memorable Jose!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daltonmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this great hotel. Very cozy. Great service and beautiful building! The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bar was a nice place to meet up with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslarue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a must stay boutique hotel. I visited the hotel with 3 girl friends for a girls reunion and shopping weekend in December . From the minute we arrived the staff was on the top of their game and the hotel was filled with charm. The room was large enough for 4 of us and nicely finished. The cozy lobby, with it's fireplaces, was delightful for a pre dinner glass of wine. The bellman took excellent care of us and the location was perfect for Chicago shopping. All the feeling of a top notch hotel without the attitude. It will be my new Chicago treasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

So beautiful, warm and cozy....have stayed here for many years. Always love it. Have only once been offered an upgrade which is kind of a disappointment as I have come here twice a year for probably over a decade. I feel a little slighted. Still I love it. Inviting rooms with beds that coddle you and bathrooms that spoil you. Lovely outside dining. Miss the Bice Restaurant terribly but the sidewalk café is still a beautiful place to enjoy an afternoon or a balmy evening

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinot8noior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I return to The Talbott once a year during the holidays. Again, they surpassed my expectations. Excellent service, spotlessly clean rooms and a great location made for a wonderful place to spend the holidays. For an old-school hotel experience, you can't beat The Talbott. Ask for an executive deluxe or the one bedroom suite to really enhance your experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king or a one-bedroom suite to add a bit more luxury to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 191 in Chicago
2,635 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £94 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing