We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Talbott. It is smaller, boutique, hotel. The hotel is well located in the city, near Watertower and Bloomingdales with plenty of restaraunts nearby. The staff were very efficient and helped by calling the airline about my lost luggage. I would rate the service (by all of the staff) as excellent. The room was clean, well stocked with coffee machine and quality amenities and was reasonably sized. We stayed in an exec double on the 9th floor. Free internet was a bonus. The heating was good and the room quiet. If you are looking for a hotel that isn't a large impersonal one I would recommend the Talbott.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here while attending a Bears game in December. Tim, the concierge was especially helpful in getting us to and from the game easily and arranged for the return of two pillows to our home which we had inadvertently left in our room. They were returned within 2 days and at no charge. Dwayne, the bellman was also very helpful and friendly during our stay. Would stay here again if returning to downtown Chicago for shopping or restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmichna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here during the Christmas holiday of Dec. 2013, celebrating New Year's Eve at the Blue Man Group and taking in several plays. The staff was attentive, delightful and Dwayne was especially attentive to our needs. When I got sick, a doctor was summoned to my room and I received special attention as well as good advice on how to handle my asthma. The rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet, unlike my stays in some of the larger, more expensive properties in Chicago. I woke up feeling refreshed, like I was at home. Beautiful decor in the small lobby and a feeling of safety due to staff vigilence completed the ambiance of this wonderful hotel. In addition, the location is perfect for walking to most of the Chicago attractions or a short cab ride away. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mari_katp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this place one night. We wanted to be The Talbott Hotel. . Our room was spacious, clean, and modern. The hotel was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. We had breakfast at their cafe- I had hot oatmeal cereal and my husband had a toasted bagel. Breakfast was reasonable and the service was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a beautiful place to stay for our New Years Chicago trip. Excellent staff, beautiful decor, comfortable beds and rooms were very spacious. The location was perfect. I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel offers a cozy lobby with dual fireplaces to get warm after coming in from the cold. We stayed on the 16th floor in a suite. The room was large and beautiful and tastefully done. The bathroom was large clean and nice. It had a separate shower and tub and sinks. The apple TV took a minute to get used to but worked well. The room mixes nicely new technology and the comforts of today with old world elegance. I was concerned at first the hotel may feel run down because of its age but that was absolutely not the case. Dwayne gave us a rundown of all the places to visit in the area as soon as we arrived. Don't miss Potash market for a nice sandwich or a few higher end grocery items. We were given a late check out without any hassle and the front desk was always nice and quickly accommodating. The only downside would be the windows that allow in a draft. This would be the only thing negative to offer about the hotel. It is also attached directly to a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner although we did not try it. It does not offer a workout facility but does offer a free pass to a club about a block away if needed. It is worth noting this hotel is a block or two away from Michigan and all the shopping that comes with it. I would give this hotel 5 stars hands down which says alot coming from me. If you are thinking of staying here you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the larger suite and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived to this picturesque hotel with a warm and welcoming staff and couldn't have been happier. The hotel rooms are spacious and finely appointed. And those warm bathroom tiles!

Jose was not only knowledgeable about the hotel and the city, but he took the time to both learn and remember all 6 of my parties names. He's made us feel welcome and been a continuing assistance while we stayed at the hotel. Thanks for making our stay memorable Jose!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daltonmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing