We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, location,service”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed in Chicago land toward the end of September 2013. This small hotel is located near the wonderful stores, Navy pier, and lakeshore drive. The area is quite nice so walking is great exercise. We walked down to the Shed Aquarium and back and enjoyed Millennium Park. The Talbott Hotel curb service to help you in and out of the hotel with your luggage is tip top. The upper floors are accessed by elevator. Rooms are stylish, tasteful, and quiet. The lobby has several cozy places to read, relax, and sit in peace and quiet. Restaurant next door, Little Market, is attached to the Talbott, has nice breakfasts with good flavors and some spicy heat if you want it. Overhead is background trendy music to eat by. In the evening, we enjoyed a night cap Drambuie and paired it with a slice of flourless chocolate cake. The day time and evening sidewalk menu is fast and delicious; soup, sandwich and salad combos. A nice slice of Europe in Chicago!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely hotel. Intimate, clean, beautifully decorated and newly refurbished. Always a first choice. If Dwayne helps you from your cab, don't worry - he'll notice if you've left your hat, gloves, or cellphone behind.

Room Tip: Suites at the Talbott are a tremendous value for the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJKROUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our growing family requires special criteria on our getaways usually and Trip Advisor helped us exceed our expectations in finding this gem in Chicago. This independent is at a great location to Rush Street and shopping and walking to much the city has to offer, was spacious, had all the amenities of a 4 star and more with such a helpful staff, at a competitive price. We had a wonderful birthday weekend for my daughter in Chicago. Definitely a 10!

I have been able to find similar hotels all over the world thanks to Trip Advisor!!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, internal I think and very quiet which was another bonus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianePittbsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in!!! There is absolutely nothing to fault with this amazing and beautiful hotel!!! Rooms, location and staff all fantastic!!! We were upgraded to a beautiful one bedroom suite with great views over the street. If you stay anywhere in Chicago, make sure you stay here!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicky1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stopped at the last minute during a storm that pretty much closed the city for a few hours on February 17th and enjoyed a wonderful night. Customer service was outstanding as we called at the last minute when we pulled it up on this site for "hotels nearby" Lovely room, very comfortable bed. We had a glass of wine by the fire, went for a walk in the snow and came back to enjoy a light meal before getting up early to continue the trip back to Michigan. Front desk, Ryan ? was great helping us secure a last minute rate and Gene at the concierge desk was incredible as we checked out at 530 am with no coffee and left some things in the lobby. They secured them, Gene called and put them in the mail the same day! WOW! We had left some really important things and they were all returned immediately. Really impressive, Can't wait to return. Thank you for a great break in a long drive. It will be our new "Go to" hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rizzo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From the first moment we arrived we were pampered. Dwayne appeared instantly at our cab to welcome us, help with luggage and check-in. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we had an upgraded room, and it was beautiful. The hotel has refurbished since we last stayed there. This hotel is a bit unique in that it is a beautifully restored hotel from the 1920's. When you enter the hotel it's like going back in time to opulent elegance - and the entire staff makes you feel pampered. And while the hotel has an old-world charm it also has every high tech convenience too.

We like the location of the hotel due to the fact it's only a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue and excellent restaurants and shopping. The restaurant at the hotel is also exceptional. The staff there are also excellent, as is the food. My wife and I would enjoy coffee in the morning in front of the fireplace in the lobby each morning before breakfast. The restaurant staff would bring the coffee to us there, and later we'd go over to the restaurant for our breakfast. Pretty cool!

If you're looking for an exceptional and unique place to stay in Chicago, give the Talbott a try. We're already looking forward to visiting again this fall. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LifeJourney222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hilton C.

If you are in the Chicago area and need a nice romantic place to relax for a week, this is the place. The Hotel is as clean as it gets, great atmosphere, nice fire place in the Lobby, amazing Restaurant and bar, clean bathrooms all over the place. Ask for Dwayne to help you get started on your tours of the city, he is great and so is Terieuis for your reservations when you arrive if their is a problem. The entire staff is great.

Room Tip: 6th floor has an excellent view when facing the street on East Delaware Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HILTON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £99 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing