We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional personal service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional personal service and location”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place is a winner on all levels. The location is perfect, in a nice, clean area of Chicago right near the Hancock Centre and the Miracle Mile. It is walking distance to these great attractions and the variety of restaurants nearby. The rooms are immaculately clean with a beautiful interior. We stayed on level 9 and our room was very spacious and well appointed. BUT, the real winner is Dwayne. Dwayne works at the hotel and made it his personal mission to ensure we had a great time. He was exceptionally helpful in providing us with great recommendations to eat out and always greeted us with a smile and upbeat personality. This was worth the reservation alone! Thanks to the hotel for an amazing stay in Chicago. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Talbott Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel, spacious rooms, very helpful staff, attractive lobby in a wonderful location in Chicago, especially if you want to be close to Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, Barnes & Noble and within 30 or so walk to downtown Loop to theatres. My husband and I both have special, limited diets and the hotel even brought in a microwave and refrigerator to our room at no extra charge. It was enormously helpful. Having Barnes & Noble a 5minute walk from the hotel was great since it was rainy and cold and windy end of April/May1, maybe hit a record for low temps. Safe walking at night too. All in all, I'd recommend The Talbott to anyone coming to downtown Chicago, at a much better rate than the more conventional big hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Three nights in this hotel was much enjoyed, excellent service and we would particularly like to thank Gene in the Concierge Department who was most helpful!
A comfortable central hotel with good food which was reasonably priced for this city.
We would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Spring break with my grandaughters ages 4 and 7. This was their first trip to Chicago and American Girl. We were able to checkin early. We arrived by train around 1pm. We had a corner king suite and adjacent double queen on the 15th floor facing the street. When we walked in the girls were surprised with an American girl doll bed with doll bathrobes and slippers all laid out for them. They also had stationery and room service menus just for them. They later had sprinkle cupcakes and milk delivered and the concierge arranged a horse and carriage ride the next morning to the american girl.store for lunch after pictures were taken in the lobby. Later the pictures were delivered to our room. The hotel is gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Free wifi and mini MAC in each room. Real glasses and coffee cups for the Kuerig coffee machine are replaced daily from the adjacent restaurant, Little Market, which has excellent food. We received 3 - $15.00 vouchers as part of the American Girl pkg. Love the bathrooms, the separate shower and deep soaking tub in the suite..the girls wanted to take their baths in there because there is a tv on the wall! The beds were heavenly and it was soo quiet. Housekeeping gave us fans and a refrigerator when the girls dad came back with a gallon of milk and cereal. Everyone from housekeeping, the concierge, the bell hops and the door men were so friendly and helpful. Dwayne always had a smile on his face and a hello for Ms. Haley and Ms.Hanna. He also saved me from leaving my cell phone behind which was charging. Dwayne expertly loaded the baggage cart with our luggage and our american girl goodies and bags and put us in a comfortable taxi-van back to the train station! I couldn't have asked for a nicer oasis to come back to in between venturing out shopping, exploring and eating at chicago's great restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and always happy to talk and give us all the information we need. The rooms were very trendy. This location is close to so many places we wanted to visit. They had a concierge desk and they recommended interesting attractions and places to see.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Latchoumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you like small boutique hotels, this is your hotel. A friend and I stayed here April 26th and 27th for the first time and thought it was a gem. Lovely character lobby filled with leather sofas, art, gas fireplaces and oriental carpets. This is a small hotel with a bar/restaurant attached. There are 15 floors with ten rooms per floor. Geographically it was ideal. It is close to the Magnificent Mile and and has great proximity to where you want to go/be. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and there was a subdued feeling of peace and quiet -- dare I say old world elegance. We had a wonderful weekend and went to the Field Museum, Art Institute, and much more. If you are new to Chicago, definitely take the riverboat architecture tour given by the Chicago Architecture Foundation. A real treat. I have no complaints about this hotel and would stay there again. It was quiet and elegant, and all of the staff were helpful, polite and respectful. Loved Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendaroolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If your looking for character, this hotel will not disappoint. Loads of timber and brass with old English décor, log fireplaces, big comfy lounges the whole works! Only a small foyer but very classy and it oozes atmosphere.
Great downstairs bar where with mixture of hotel guests and locals gather for drinks along with an indoor/outdoor brassiere restaurant.
Located just around the corner from great Rush St Restaurants including Hugo's Frog Bar, Gibson's, Carmine's and my favourite, Tavern on Rush! Easy walk to Hancock Building on Michigan Ave and loads of shopping.
The Talbott is a great place to retreat to after a big day or night out in the windy city...

Room Tip: If you want a room with a street view, ask for a room on the Delaware side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwingkingGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
2,186 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing