We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel and Tremendous Value”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I took a short vacation to Chicago and stumbled on this hotel accidentally. It was part of an airfare-hotel package booked through Orbitz at an unbelievably low price. Upon arrival we were greeted like family and treated like royalty. The hotel upgraded our room without asking, quickly issued us our keys and transported our baggage to the room in matter of minutes. The room was way beyond our expectations. I have stayed in some five star hotels in Asia that do not compare. The bed was extremely comfortable and the decor was refined and tasteful. The concierge service was wonderful as well. They were able to get us into a sold-out restaurant for Easter Sunday brunch-- no problems. The location is great as well just off the Miracle Mile. Overall, I would recommend this hotel unconditionally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USMA1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,861)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Found the Talbott on trip advisor because did not want to stay in stuffy conference hotel on Michigan. The reviews helped me select Th Talbott. Been to Chicago several times but this hotel is located in the best area possible. Close to everything. Dwayne, who is famous in the reviews, did not disappoint He pointed out the nearest Walgreens, diner, pizza place, market, etc that made a trip to the city most enjoyable……strongly recommend The Talbott….also used the gym they send you too and it was awesome…..very modern and in the Bloomingdale lobby….wonderful

Room Tip: ask for Delaware St View
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UTRelations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I chose the hotel because it was in a central location and because amex had a good discount. I imagined an old school hotel from early 20th century - and having never been to chicago before it was a great introduction. The staff downstairs was very friendly and got me a wake up call and a taxi to get me on time to my 6am flight from o'hare. Unfortunately, i did not get to spend much time in the room as i only got back from dinner/club at 2:30AM and had to get at least a couple hours of sleep. I had a key card for the door, but i'm still not sure what the actual metal key was for... bathroom was very nice, but i couldn't find a toothbrush or toothpaste. overall a very pleasant experience, in a good location for a decent price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have recently returned from a one week stay at the Talbott.What a fantastic hotel-great comfortable spacious bedroom, prime location not far from Michigan Avenue and the lake.
Staff were excellent from the minute we arrived until we left,had a free upgrade to an executive king room and had a late check out due to our flight time.Gene the concierge was very helpful and friendly.

If you want an excellent quality hotel in the centre of Chicago choose the Talbott!

Thanks to all staff for such an enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsandmrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Talbott on a Saturday night when meeting up with some friends in Chicago. The hotel is in a nice location, near the shops. The staff were very nice and went out of their way to help us out. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The bathroom had a separate heater (not headlamp) for warming it up when you take a shower, which was nice. Best pillows I've had at a hotel in a long time. The room was pretty expensive, but at least they automatically upgraded us to a nicer room even though I didn't even ask. No views from windows other than another building about 15 feet away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable with quality pillows and linens. Gene was very friendly and helpful, drawing maps and making suggestions. Plush robes a plus! This boutique hotel wins over larger chains with its charm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheepsLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Every few years we go to Chicago over Thanksgiving weekend and we always stay at the Talbott. We love the location (2 blocks from Michigan Ave and close to great shopping), and always find the accommodations comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming. Dwayne, one of the doormen, was a wonderful ambassador for both the Talbott and Chicago on this trip. He made a point to greet us each time he saw us and shared information about the area to enhance our visit. The concierge staff at the Talbott is also very helpful with suggestions, restaurant reservations and general information. The restaurant associated with the hotel was just okay, but the bar was nice and we had fun with the bartender as he suggested interesting drinks based on our particular tastes. There was also a great "happy hour" special that included drinks and small bites. I don't think you can ever go wrong staying at the Talbott. It's a really nice boutique hotel in a great part of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoKayakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £131 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing