We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chicago getaway”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at the Talbott Hotel several times. It never disappoints. It is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. Every member of the staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. They take the time to give you information about your room and the city. It is centrally located to Lincoln Park, Water Tower Place, Wrigley and any other downtown area of the city. We love it here.
On this trip, my husband was recovering from knee surgery and was on crutches and in a brace. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were in a room that provided for his safety while moving around. We are grateful that there are places that still provide such a high level of service and always do it with a smile. Many thanks to the staff for all their help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2waveriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 3,005 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I (we) have stayed at the Talbott a number of times over the years and have to say it is one of my favorites in any city I visit. From the time the doorman opens your door, front desk reception and bell service to room; you know you are in the right place. We were traveling with our 16 year old daughter and opted for a suite with an adjoining room (903+904) and it worked out perfectly. The location of the hotel is very convenient and we walked everywhere to see the sites, shop, and dine. There are many places to stay in this great city, the Talbott is my choice.

PS: they also have a great restaurant / bar attached with room service. And health club access.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mullettlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at The Talbot while being in Chicago for just one night. I was anticipating a lovely stay and my expectations were not met. The room was very nice - quite spacious for an urban location but... the service and the amenities fell short. I was in town for a medical procedure and chose a smaller, boutique hotel so I would be in a more gracious, personal environment. When we checked in, the concierge asked about dinner reservations. I mentioned that I would not be up to eating so he said I could find soup at a place a couple of blocks away. I thought he would offer to send up some soup...but, that's OK. Then, I needed some ice. Only available through room service. The dinner we ordered through room service was mediocre at best. They did not have Pinot Grio by the glass so we needed to order a bottle. Every part of the experience was just not quite on target. Next time, we will choose another property. It could be a great place but needs lots of improvements in their basic services.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank incognitodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Such a great hotel! My husband, daughter and I stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago to participate in Bike the Drive. Everyone was so accommodating. Charles, the doorman, was especially helpful storing our bikes for us. We were upgraded to a suite. The spacious room was immaculate , so inviting. My 10 year old daughter especially enjoyed the Apple TV. We have stayed at the Talbott before and always find the people to be helpful and professional. Gene, the concierge, was able to get us tickets at the last minute for an architectural boat tour. Overall a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel and staff were fantastic. Everyone was friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge Staff. We had a wonderful first-time visit to Chicago and hope to return soon! Such a beautiful city. We enjoyed the CAF river boat tour and bus trip to Oak Park and waling tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's home, studio, neighborhood, and Unity Temple.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Professional and helpful staff. The room was large and well appointed. The valet service was quick so no issue parking the car as the hotel is located centrally in Chicago. Very nice for any length of stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a no brainer. Stay here. It does't get any better. The Talbott is is full of wonderful luxuries. However, it is the individuals at the Talbott that make it so great. Each person, no matter what position they have, offers incredible hospitality and information. I had many an elevator ride with individuals that take care of the cleaning and every time they asked how my day was. Every time I came back to the hotel Kurtis at the desk or Perry out front welcomed me back and asked how my day was. Both Tim and Gene offered wonderful concierge service. They offered their personal preferences as well as thing my family and I were interested in. In all of the hotels throughout the world that I have stayed in, the Talbott provided the best serve I have ever experienced. I will stay in this hotel every time I am in Chicago. If it does not have any rooms available I will reschedule the trip in order to stay here. It is that good. After checking out, my wife realized she had left her cardigan at the hotel. I called Gene and they had found it and sat it aside. He immediately mailed it to us free of charge. The wonderful service continued after our stay had ended. This place is so good. Don't look any further. Just stay here.

Room Tip: Deluxe King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannerbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £101 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing