We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Attentive”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

You will not find a more friendly staff anywhere in the world. Even though I might never make it back to Chicago. I feel I have friends there. From the doormen to the maids. So professional. The restaurant is also very good and priced right. The only negative was my view of a brick wall. Next time I'll request a higher room with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,243
    467
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
578
1,233
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Following the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked this hotel and it certainly lived up to all expectations. Perfectly located for walking through Chicago, fabulous room and really helpful staff. We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed every minute. My only criticism was there was no teabags in the room and after 3 phone calls in 2 days I managed to get a couple. Bought my own box and carried them through the rest of my USA trip!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EACSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As a business traveler, I was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful hotel. The service was exceptional, especially Dwayne - a friendly and very helpful guy! I stayed in a regular room which was very spacious compared to other downtown city hotels. I will always stay here when in Chicago!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a smaller hotel near North Michigan, but still quiet and unpretentious. The service was excellent and our room was very comfortable. The restaurant was pleasant and we felt reasonably priced. It was nice that the hotel was also close to a drug store and a beauty parlor. We will definitely come again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chandler E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent one weekend my wife and I in Chicago for our "twice a year no kid week end";
I had in mind to make a reservation @ 4seasons until I saw the review of the Talbott on Tripadvisor.

I saved 350$ per night and it was perfect :
- large and comfortable room (1607)
- perfect location
- no too big
- nice people

The only "minus" would be the elevators : only two used also by the staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stopped here for a few nights and enjoyed our stay.

Staff were as lovely as has been mentioned in many other reviews. We had a complimentary upgrade to a lovely spacious room with everything we required: safe, iron and board, sofa and easy chair, writing desk, alarm clock with lead for MP3/iPod, free wifi.

The bed was heavenly - I defy anyone not to sleep well. Our room was slightly gloomy as we were facing the Waldorf which dwarfed the Talbott, so even though our room was on the top floor, the sky was completely blotted out.

The location was in the north of the city, but within walking distance of many restaurants, Michigan Avenue and the John Hancock Tower for those with a head for heights.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay here. If I had to come up with a complaint, I'd have to make it up! The location: perfect. Walk to almost anywhere you need to be in town. The staff: perfect. From the front desk to the chambermaids, everyone is as helpful as can be. The room: perfect. Felt like home, only nicer!
One of our top 5 all-timers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DarbyField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing