We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Trip”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wanted to stay downtown found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it was everything everyone said it was. Excellent service- we arrived in Chicago at 5:30 AM I called the Talbot and asked if our room would be ready by 7AM and we arrived to a clean & comfortable room. They were helpful on directions and great places to eat & drink. From now on when I return to Chicago we will make this our place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have always wanted to stay at the Talbott Hotel and were able to in July 2014. The service was impeccable from the minute we got out of our sedan. The rooms were larger than expected with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was nice with double sinks in our 2 Queen Bed room yet dated. The tub/shower was deep like a jacuzzi but without handholds to climb in and out if you slipped and the toilet had one of those handle flushers like in a school bathroom. It was very hot while we were there and the cooling system is rather dated, similar to a swamp cooling system. We had to always fiddle with the controls to restart it as it would become very warm and humid in the room.
An added bonus was the Keurig machine in the room. It was great to wake up with our favorite coffee
The location is perfect between Rush, State and Pearson. We were able to walk to many restaurants, shopping and attractions.

Room Tip: upper floors have nicer views and have less street noise
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We found this hotel on trip advisor, and thanks to all the great reviews, we chose to stay here. We just loved it. Becky was so warm and hospitable at the front desk; she was always a pleasure to see. Perry helped us with our bags and gave us invaluable information to get us started in Chicago. Roanna was super helpful as our concierge and she was fun to talk to! Charles, our bellman, was such a love. Everyone was so friendly; they made us feel so welcome. When we walked in and saw our room, we were thrilled. It was stunning. We loved spending time in our room after sight seeing all day. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago and we hope to go back one day and stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a surprise trip to Chicago for my wife's Birthday. Stayed two nights the first weekend in June at the Talbott. The Front staff was very friendly on our arrival. The hotel is located within walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The room was a bit of a disappointment, as when opening up the curtains, our view was of a water pipe and the roof of the building next door. I decide to book a room with Talbott because of the number of great reviews it received on TripAdvisor. This is a small and older hotel. I would say that this place is a good choice overall, but not as great as the other reviews I've read. Considering the room rates and number of other hotels in the area, we'd probably stay at another hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff60468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful facility, great service and perfect location. Great coffee and delicious breakfast. I absolutely LOOOOOVED this hotel. The room was fantastic with a large, clean, crisp and insanely comfortable bed. The check-in took a while because there was only one associate working the desk. While the hotel was pleasant the service from one particular front desk clerk was amazing. Kurtis greeted my group like we were old friends. He knew we were coming in for a corporate meeting and recognized our company. I am in the hospitality industry and by far he is one if not the BEST of the best. The next morning he was back at work again and recognized me by name. I even told him if he ever wanted to relocate to TX he was welcome to come on down. This is a wonderful place to stay for business. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The rooms are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Talbot is an olde-world hotel, a step back in time; the interior lobby is very traditional. The staff are great, very professional and helpful, easily getting taxis and advising on where to go in town. The only thing is the room we were in was very dark and there was no view at all. We didn't really want to spend much time in it (even though it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean) - just a tad depressing in terms of lack of light. Would stay here again as its very handy for all attractions, shopping and eating out but would ask for a brighter room with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and better natural light - ours was very dark
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Talamhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment we checked in, the Talbott staff went above and beyond to make sure our week-long stay was top-notch. We arrived almost 3 hours early due to our flight and they handled our schedule with extreme ease and the finest hospitality. The hotel has a great location and service in Chicago's CBD, but the where it shines is in the details; turn down service with chocolates, ice delivered to your room, Apple TV and genuine staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenalleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £124 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing