We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a fantastic hotel - from the rooms and support staff to location you can't go wrong. We were delighted when we were able to check into our room at 9am, well before check in time. We had a superior queen/queen room that was nestled against the lift shaft but we did not hear a sound the entire stay. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff were all delightful and we enjoyed meeting everyone throughout our stay. We absolutely loved the hotel and Chicago and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoberts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved everything about the Talbott. In my opinion, the room was quite spacious and, more importantly exceptionally clean. Service and staff were outstanding. Location is superb. Bath/shower very user friendly.

View? We didn't even check. What we cared about was a very nice, quiet, scrupulously clean place in an ideal neighborhood for shopping and restaurants. Bed was very comfortably luxurious.

Air conditioning worked wonderfully well! A bonus in July...

Free wi-fi is a deal-breaker for me. At a time when so many up-scale hotels want to charge an additional fee ($15 or so per day for wi-fi) this free wi-fi was welcome.

Trying to think of nits to pick (and I love to complain!) I find nothing but high praise for the Talbott Hotel. Check in and out were quick and seamless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were visiting Chicago for the first time and spent 3 nights at the Talbott Hotel--based on reviews from Trip Advisor! We were not disappointed! We were upgraded to a great room, everyone was friendly and helpful, the location was convenient--all exactly as described. Gene, the concierge, was more than helpful with great advice and recommendations. Dwayne greeted us when we arrived and brought our luggage to the room. He also gave us great recommendations! We highly recommend the Talbott!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with windows facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieC331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wanted to stay downtown found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it was everything everyone said it was. Excellent service- we arrived in Chicago at 5:30 AM I called the Talbot and asked if our room would be ready by 7AM and we arrived to a clean & comfortable room. They were helpful on directions and great places to eat & drink. From now on when I return to Chicago we will make this our place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have always wanted to stay at the Talbott Hotel and were able to in July 2014. The service was impeccable from the minute we got out of our sedan. The rooms were larger than expected with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was nice with double sinks in our 2 Queen Bed room yet dated. The tub/shower was deep like a jacuzzi but without handholds to climb in and out if you slipped and the toilet had one of those handle flushers like in a school bathroom. It was very hot while we were there and the cooling system is rather dated, similar to a swamp cooling system. We had to always fiddle with the controls to restart it as it would become very warm and humid in the room.
An added bonus was the Keurig machine in the room. It was great to wake up with our favorite coffee
The location is perfect between Rush, State and Pearson. We were able to walk to many restaurants, shopping and attractions.

Room Tip: upper floors have nicer views and have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We found this hotel on trip advisor, and thanks to all the great reviews, we chose to stay here. We just loved it. Becky was so warm and hospitable at the front desk; she was always a pleasure to see. Perry helped us with our bags and gave us invaluable information to get us started in Chicago. Roanna was super helpful as our concierge and she was fun to talk to! Charles, our bellman, was such a love. Everyone was so friendly; they made us feel so welcome. When we walked in and saw our room, we were thrilled. It was stunning. We loved spending time in our room after sight seeing all day. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago and we hope to go back one day and stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a surprise trip to Chicago for my wife's Birthday. Stayed two nights the first weekend in June at the Talbott. The Front staff was very friendly on our arrival. The hotel is located within walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The room was a bit of a disappointment, as when opening up the curtains, our view was of a water pipe and the roof of the building next door. I decide to book a room with Talbott because of the number of great reviews it received on TripAdvisor. This is a small and older hotel. I would say that this place is a good choice overall, but not as great as the other reviews I've read. Considering the room rates and number of other hotels in the area, we'd probably stay at another hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff60468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing