We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay was extra nice because I somehow received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The room would have been a good value even at double the rate I paid.

Comfortable bed, spacious sitting room, and a nice bathroom with two sinks across from each other.

Other than dated decor, everything in the room was great. The service was better than some five star hotels. From housekeeping, to the door, to the front desk they really seemed to care about our stay.

The location is great for shopping and restaurants. In nice weather you can walk just about anywhere you'd want to go. And walking is the best way to see a city!

I will definitely stay at the Talbott again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cariesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked my reservation based on the glowing reviews for this hotel. Our stay was excellent . . . from the impressive entrance, to the staff, to housekeeping, to the bellhop . . . everything was perfect. Spacious room, comfortable beds and pillows, a Keurig machine, free wi-fi and computer. Great location. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie51942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paris, IN
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We just got back from a two day stay at the Talbott and were blown away by the customer service and room. From the time we exited the taxi, Dewayne the Doorman was there to assist with the luggage, greet us, and escort us to the front desk. I had booked a one bedroom suite and requested a higher floor; we got there around 11:15 and our room wasn't ready which was not a problem. We sat outside for some lunch and decided to check again. Derius at the Front desk said they had a room but it was on the 4th floor which I decided to take and I am glad I did. We had a great corner room with trees outside and good view. Noise from the street was not a problem at all. We had a problem with the tv remote and five minutes after calling someone was there to fix the problem. The turndown service is great with the curtains drawn, bed turned down, chocolates and tv remote on pillow and bathroom refreshed. You can tell the staff like what they are doing. Area is great- close to Michigan Ave, lots of flowers and trees and noisy (at least for Chicago). Will definitely stay there again. Ask Dewayne the Doorman for places to eat his picks were great.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room 401, noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debkay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel provides the best service, respect and satisfaction. This is the place to be treated like royalty.The hotel has several floors and the elevators are quiet and quick. The service is wonderful. The people at the front desk are friendly and offered information about local restaurants, stores and entertainment. Every time I went past the front desk, I was greeted with a smile. Great customer service!

The rooms are decorated well and furnished with beautiful furniture. I couldn't get over the large TV, which can be used as a computer. Digital thermostat. Bathroom had 2 sinks. Nice size.

Conference room was neat and spacious.

One evening during my stay, I called the front desk for assistance with the computer/TV that was in my room. Someone was at my door within 5 minutes. The person was swift and very helpful.

The housekeeping staff are great! The housekeeper offered to close my drapes, pull my blankets back and provided delicious chocolate candy each night as a treat during my 3 day stay.

Here is an example of customer service I experienced: One evening someone across the hall had ordered room service and I heard the person say "wow that was fast". Then, the gentleman who brought the food waited at the elevator with me to go downstairs. He greeted me and offered me the opportunity to get on the elevator first. When we arrived to the lobby, he then stood aside and let me get off the elevator first. Such a great gentleman!

This is the place to be as far as local attractions. There is a local restaurant within the hotel and plenty outside of the hotel. Magnificent mile is within walking distance. Take some time to visit the lake and ride the famous Ferris wheel.

This hotel is one of the best and worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tajavien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Talbott Hotel this past weekend for a family trip to Chicago. It was our first time in the city, and the folks at the Talbott Hotel made us feel welcome from the time we pulled up to the front curb. The staff at the front desk greeted us with a smile every time we passed by during our many trips to and from our room. Our one-bedroom suite was very clean and comfortable and was just the right size for our family of four. The twice daily housekeeping service, including turn-down service in the evening (with chocolates on the pillows!), was excellent! The concierge was extremely helpful and gave us useful information to navigate the shopping and restaurants. Dwayne was a great help in getting us checked out and packed up for our trip home. You can tell that the staff there cares about doing their jobs well, it shows! Everything went smoothly during our stay. We would definitely come back to the Talbott Hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor, it's quiet to help you get a good night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OM765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recommend this place. As you can see in others' reviews, this place is great.
The room was huge and the bathroom was nice too.
They have the best body wash/ lotion!!!
I stayed two different types of rooms. They both were great!!!!

Tips:
I recommend the future tourists to book this hotel by using Orbitz or other websites.
I wanted to extend my stay in Chicago, so I told the hotel. The front desk staff said it was over 300 dollars per night (you can find better deals on other "legible"websites)
Everything was perfect except for ROOM SERVICE
I ordered room service maybe 4-5 times. Very EXPENSIVE (not even delicious.....frankly terrible )

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This boutique hotel is located in the heart of the Gold Coast and walking distance from EVERYTHING. The service is amazing and the restaurant in the hotel is great, with a beautiful outside patio. Room service is delivered promptly directly from the restaurant all day and late night. The hotel takes pride in being a "green" hotel and if you set the thermostat to turn off when you leave the room, the hotel will reimburse you for one month of your home's energy footstamp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing