We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel, Great Location, July 29,2014”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visiting Chicago to see my son for the 2nd time in as many months, we decided to move to another part of town. My parents recommended the Talbott and were they "spot" on. The front desk staff were very pleasant and upgraded us to a 1 br suite (maybe because my wife's a travel agent, not sure). This boutique hotel was gorgeous, well maintained, quiet and excellent value. Beautiful lobby, restaurant, bar and the rooms are "sweet". All staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions. Bellman Dwayne, exceptional. It's in the middle of the nicest part of Chicago with restaurants and shopping, the beach and all within walking distance. They also give you day passes to one of the nicest gyms/spa Equinox, right around the block. Try it, you'll like it! I'd go back here in a heartbeat and will recommend this to anyone who asks.
5 star.

Room Tip: If you can afford to get the 1 br suite, it's a really good value compared to anything else, GET...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulD3NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,650 - 1,656 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I appreciated the renovation of this property, which was done well. the room was beautiful with one of the best bathrooms that I have seen - real towels! It was a perfect location for downtown, and the price was fair.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Talbot is a well-located hotel in the Gold Coast. Room are generously sized and very comfortable. Décor is a bit of the frumpy/dated side, but amenities are great and rooms are very well kept. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. Doormen are a delight. The street facing lobby level restaurant (with a nice sidewalk seating area in good weather) is fish/seafood oriented, but is also open for breakfast. Staff at the restaurant are also very nice. Would certainly stay here again. Keep an eye out for specials, often promoted on Jetsetter.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family and I recently visited Chicago and stayed at the Talbott hotel because of its wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We certainly were not disappointed. The location was great, one block from the hop-on-hop-off bus, 3 blocks from the Red Line "L", and within walking distance of many wonderful restaurants. The staff was top notch. They were helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and very comfortable and the bed and pillows provided a good nights sleep. The value was very good and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you to the Talbott for a great mini-vacation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank BVD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is our second trip to the Talbott Hotel, a return visit. We first came in December when the weather was fierce, but returned In August because we liked it so much. Great location, a few blocks from North Michigan Avenue and Oak Street Beach. We always like to get a run or stroll along the bike path and the hotel is perfectly located for access to the lake. The doormen and front desk folks are helpful and friendly. We want to give a special shout out to Terievis, who was working the front desk and found us the most amazing room. We were frustrated after a very long drive in from O'hare but he settled us in beautiful suite. The hotel has an excellent restaurant connected with an awesome bar serving creative and delicious cocktails - super convenient. You don't have to worry about this boutique hotel having a small fitness center, Tallbott guests can use the Equinox gym just down the block. The rooms are well appointed with good water pressure, nice furnishings, and get dark and quiet at night. Rates are reasonable too. I give this 5 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My second visit to the Talbott Hotel and I'll continue to come back! Great huge room, friendly staff, and steps from the Magnificent Mile and the restaurants on Rush Street. The hotel restaurant also has good food and excellent cocktails. A really convenient and comfortable place to stay for business and pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TimCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just stayed here for business and all the previous reviews are dead on. This is a charming hotel, not necessarily for business only (I would gladly stay here with my family), that is located in a prime spot (3 blocks to Gibsons et al). Rooms are spacious and well kept. I don't think you find a better hotel for you buck. I think I may have found my new home in Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hyper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £101 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing