We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in Every Way”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

So much good has been already written about this wonderful hotel, I am tempted to only say amen to all the 5 star reviews. Everything about the Talbott is outstanding, but the staff is the one area that stands out above the rest -- they are exceptional. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly, helpful and kind. It is apparent they like their work and they appreciate their customers. The hotel location, A+; the cleanliness and attractiveness of the rooms, A+ and the rate per night, a great deal compared to other high end properties in Chicago. A special mention about the gentlemen at the Concierge desk -- simply top notch. Well done Talbott!!

Room Tip: We loved our Parlor King. Spacious and elegantly appointed.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,868)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited Chicago for the first time for our anniversary and stayed at the Talbott on the recommendation of a friend for three nights.

What a find! This is truly a fantastic boutique hotel situated in the Magnificent Mile area which offers excellent sightseeing, shopping and walking tours. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the concierge service first class, Mercadito restaurant dining very good, the rooms clean and well appointed and the location perfect.

We will stay at the Talbott on our next trip to Chicago and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buns13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel on the Gold coast- quaint , friendly and very comfortable. It is my go-to hotel in Chicago. The staff and service is exceptional. Love the smaller venue. Left an article of clothing behind and they immedistely had a record if it from housekeeping and mailed it back free. We will be back soon.

Thank MaryRoachM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I took my goddaughter (14 yrs old) to Chicago for one of our city tours we choose each year as we explore great cities in the US. The Talbott met all my expectations and more. The rooms were larger than most you will find. We had a double queen room that was spacious and well appointment with WiFi on the television so we didn't even have to pull out our computer. The bed was just right with lovely comfortable bedding and pillows that were not too soft and just enough support and dust mite free (not pink eyes in the morning). The location was wonderful with easy access to within walking distance of two major restaurant neighborhoods, weekend outdoor market, an awesome little grocery store and the magnificient mile and the hop on hop off bus. My goddaughter particularly like the near by outdoor gelato and juice bar near Carne's restaurant just 2 blocks away. The staff were very friendly, personable and accomodating. The concierge made all our reservations and even got our boarding passes in the middle of the night and printed and delivered them under our door. We had showers on our last day and though it was wonderful trying several great restaurants in the area, we popped into the seafood restaurant in the hotel and had a very good meal before heading to the airport. Enjoy, eat and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I picked the Talbott on the basis of the reviews I read here, and we couldn't have been happier. Our room was spacious, nicely appointed and immaculately clean, with very comfortable beds. My daughter and I liked the make-up mirror in the bathroom, and we all appreciated the plush towels and bathrobes. We were on the top floor but we did not have a view. That was not a major concern as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The concierge was very helpful in providing advice; we particularly appreciated her tip to visit the top of the nearby John Hancock building rather than stand in line at the Sears Tower. Somehow it came up in our conversation that I'd had a birthday recently, and soon a card and some chocolates were delivered to our room. Each time we entered the hotel the desk staff welcomed us back and asked how our day had been - and they were sincere about it! The location of the hotel is very convenient. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked a trip to Chicago for my husband's 40th birthday. I chose the Talbott based on Trip Advisor reviews, and was not disappointed. The staff was lovely, they recognized my husband's birthday with an upgrade to a beautiful suite, a birthday card, and a small gift of chocolates. The front desk staff, bellmen and housekeepers were uniformly kind, friendly and helpful.

The room was incredibly clean and comfortable, provided robes were thick and comfy, and the TV even included a linked computer for web browsing.

The location was great--only a couple of short blocks to shopping on the Magnificent Mile, the John Hancock Building, and the American Girl Place (if that is your thing). There is also a CTA Red Line stop a few blocks in the other direction. Easy access to the Loop, it is walkable in nice weather.

I highly recommend a stay here. My only suggestion is that the hotel improve their website--it was hard to tell what the amenities were from the website only.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Dwayne and the rest of the team at The Talbott Hotel were fabulous! We traveled to Chicago to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday, and we could have asked for a better place, staff or suggestions from concierge and other staff members. We were walking distance to the metro and fun activities. We received recommendations on great restaurants, blues clubs, and other activities (besides baseball, because we already had tickets to both Chicago teams' games). Thanks so much to the staff at The Talbott, and especially Dwayne!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £124 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing