We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to turn 50!!”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband surprised me with a 50th birthday extravaganza in downtown Chicago. He chose the Talbott as our lodging destination. The recent renovation provided exquisite, yet comfortable accommodations. The staff was friendly & helpful in planning an eventful weekend. The location is within walking distance of fine dining, shopping & the lakefront. Having stayed in several of Chicago's 5 star hotels, the Talbott is at the top of our list for future visits!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,956 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at The Talbot for five (5) nights & were very happy. We rented 2 rooms with king size beds & were upgraded to suites! The service was excellent & we encountered no problems!

The restaurant is immediately next to the hotel, but it seems both a part of the hotel & also separate. The location is outstanding, just north of Rush St. & south of Michigan Ave. Parking can be expensive, but there are not really other options at this location. The bell hops & valet guys really worked hard for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I highly recommend this hotel, great service the rooms spacious clean and luxurious. The beds are fantastic the best so far on our road trip from California to New York. The staff at the hotel could not be more friendly and helpful always a smile on their face when they greet you. Job well done and I will defiantly coming back for a longer stay. Overall a great experience and a great value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DesertReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I really enjoyed a grand stay at the Talbot hotel. I was extremely pleased even though it was an all expense paid trip through my profession. The location is great in the heart of what appears to be their downtown district. It has easy access throughout the city with its public transportation close by. It has a reasonably priced bar and restaurant on premises which are both great staff wise and menu. it's obviously an upscale hotel so don't expect cheap pricing. That's why I did say reasonable. The staff seemed to be real great especially Dominique.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaHoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at The Talbott for a long weekend just to get away. It was one of the highlights of the trip. The service was something that we really appreciated. The front desk staff was cheerful and helpful and a delight to speak with. The room was spacious and comfortable and well appointed. They provide an apple computer with a wireless keyboard which we found to be very convenient when planning our visit.

The location is great. Shopping, dining, drinking and sightseeing are a short walk away. We walked to Navy Pier to watch the fireworks on Saturday night.

Great place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CRMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We chose the Talbott Hotel for our recent trip to Chicago based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and we could not have been happier with our choice.

The hotel is close to Michigan Avenue and the Red Line trains. We walked or took the train for our entire stay, with the exception of taking a taxi to/from Union Station.

The entire hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We used the concierge service multiple times and received great restaurant recommendations.

Our room was spacious and clean. The two things that stood out for my husband and I were 1.) the shower head was high on the wall so that the water wasn't hitting my husband in the chest. You would be amazed at how many hotels have shower heads very low and 2.) the towels were large enough to wrap around yourself and tuck in the end. None of those short little towels that barely cover anything!!

The hotel also has free Wi-Fi, which I guess is not common in Chicago. They also have an Apple tv and keyboard, so you don't technically need to bring a computer to stay in touch. They also have an electronic notification system for housekeeping to let them know if you don't need room service for the day, and a "smart" thermostat.

Overall, our stay was fabulous and I would stay at the Talbott again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLG056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Depended on Trip Advisor for hotel booking. The Talbot was by far more that I expected. Great room with the best bedding and linens. Hotel staff was so nice and it is in a great location to walk to everything.
Would definitely recommend and will stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in 1510 and it was very nice. No view but loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £123 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing