We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our second time at the property and it will now be our Chicago home. The smaller hotel atmosphere is quaint and charming and the staff is unparalleled. The rooms are lovely, fresh and spacious with very comfortable beds. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

From the time we entered the revolving door we felt special. Everything about this hotel is first rate. The staff was friendly and greeted us with a smile and hello each time they saw us. One morning I asked where I could find a news paper. I was directed across the street, and after coming back empty handed, one employee proceeded to find a paper somewhere and then hand delivered it to our room. We've never had "turn down service" and don't really understand it, but the maid came in each night to turn down the bed and leave a chocolate for each of us. The hotel is within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and right around the corner from the Red Line train. Our room had a computer keyboard linked with the flat screen on the wall. We had a Keurig coffee maker. Our home away from home was more than I expected. This hotel has a 4 star feel at a 3 star price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great value, and great location. When I first booked and saw the prices, I was not expecting the level of luxury and service we received. Will definitely be back here the next time we come to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at the Talbott Hotel for two nights in August. The hotel is definitely boutique but beautiful and everything you would expect an exceptional hotel to be. Its location is great, centrally located near good restaurants, shopping and transit. The room was small but nicely appointed, firm comfortable bed and the room and bathroom all very clean. Free WiFi a definite plus! The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. It was a great place to stay and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location to everything! Wonderful shopping, great restaurants nearby, and within walking distance to the river and beyond. We enjoyed the restaurant attached to the hotel for delicious breakfasts, but there were also other options. Excellent service from everyone we met at the Talbot. Dwayne helped us with our bags and was the best. We loved the nightly "turn down" and chocolates. Such a lovely touch.
Thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband surprised me with a 50th birthday extravaganza in downtown Chicago. He chose the Talbott as our lodging destination. The recent renovation provided exquisite, yet comfortable accommodations. The staff was friendly & helpful in planning an eventful weekend. The location is within walking distance of fine dining, shopping & the lakefront. Having stayed in several of Chicago's 5 star hotels, the Talbott is at the top of our list for future visits!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at The Talbot for five (5) nights & were very happy. We rented 2 rooms with king size beds & were upgraded to suites! The service was excellent & we encountered no problems!

The restaurant is immediately next to the hotel, but it seems both a part of the hotel & also separate. The location is outstanding, just north of Rush St. & south of Michigan Ave. Parking can be expensive, but there are not really other options at this location. The bell hops & valet guys really worked hard for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing