We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price gouging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #56 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Price gouging”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Westin on Michigan Avenue is beautiful, comfortable, and in a great location. However, when will the Westin chain stop charging exhorbitant rates for use of crappy internet service, and to add insult to injury, Westin charges the $12 daily internet fee PER DEVICE. So if you are a traveler who uses both a work laptop and a personal iPad or iPhone, you are paying multiples of the $12 daily rate. Why? Does it cost the hotel more for two devices or one device? Of course not! It is just an opportunity to make money. The WiFi was fairly weak, as well, which was even more annoying given the charge. Also, the daily fee PER DEVICE policy was not well communicated, and per the manager is only found in the "terms of service" that customers must click when signing in to the hotel internet (you know, the small print). Nice way to treat loyal guests! In 2012, when most travelers need and use the internet in their rooms, why do upscale hotel chains find it reasonable to gouge their customers? Just include internet in the room rate!!! Do hotels charge a daily rate for me to watch the cable TV in the room? Westin needs to revisit its internet policy, a point that was lost on the manager, who was trying very hard to appease me but fell short by failing to explain in any honest way the hotel's per device internet policy (he did refund fully my internet charges for my four day stay... ) So word to the wise, just raise a stink with management like I did. Eventually, maybe, Westin will stop abusing its loyal customers with inappropriate charges. On a positive note, I left some clothing items behind when I checked out, and Antonio was very kind and helpful in locating them and sending them back to me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneKay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear AnneKay9,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear your experience with locating items you left behind went smoothly and that you enjoyed our property. We are sorry about your frustrations with the internet policy and are grateful for your feedback. We hope to be able to invite you back again in the future.
Best regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    714
    379
    163
    108
See reviews for
573
531
124
859
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

You can't beat the location of the Westin Michigan Ave- it is located right next to the John Hancock building and within walking distance to great shopping! However, we found the hotel to be lacking in updates and the halls and room had an "old" feel. The bathroom did not seem to have a vent. When my kids took showers everything got steamed including the ceiling which later dripped. Worse the carpet was pulling apart at seams and badly needed replacing.Also, the room did not have all the IT connections that one would expect from a five star hotel. THe view from our north facing room was very poor.The lobby area was nice.For the price, there are a lot of nicer hotels in the city with more modern updates.

Room Tip: Great location. Get a south side room. North side rooms have a very poor view of another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear dharunani,
We are grateful you and your family chose to stay with us and took the time to write about your experience. We are not taking your comments lightly and we appreciate your view. We hope to welcome you back soon for a revitalizing stay.
Warm regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

While it is well located on the magnificent mile and close to great attractions like the Hancock building (right across the street), the rooms are old and lacks views. The bathrooms are at least 30 years old.

There is no exec lounge. Strange for a westin and the hallways need an over hall.

The rooms are clean but they disappoint. Good for one night but not a long stay.

Lobby is also pretty small and basic. More like a crowded hallway (it's very narrow).

Staff at check in however were very polite and help ful.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights March 29-April 1. Very easy check-in/check-out. Mark Johnson at front desk was very helpful. He was show to help me print out concert tickets after I had problems in the business center. Nice touch.

The rooms were extremely quiet, beds were so comfortable that my wife and I slept for nearly 12 hours the first night! Great location, across from The Cheese Cake Factory.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GasManOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear GasManOhio,
We are glad you had such a nice weekend in Chicago! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recognizing Mark at the front desk for his assistance. We are delighted to hear you slept well in our Heavenly Bed, it is hard not to!
Come see us again soon.
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed here so my wife could be handy to the shopping in Chicago while I was at a conference. Its location was excellent, but we weren't terribly impressed by the view out of our 11th floor window of the wall of the next building! It is also surprising at a hotel of this quality (and cost) that there is no bathroom fan, so you had better shave before your shower if you want to see yourself in the mirror.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishiwho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin for business and pleasure. Lots of pros: great location, super comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff, love the showers and the view of Michigan Ave was a great thing to wake up to. Now the cons: it can be noisy, really noisy when people talk in the halls and the room wifi is AWFUL. It worked for just a few minutes every hour or so and only if I stood in the corner. Tech help was helpful and responsive but could do nothing. That provided a big inconvenience as I had to do my work in the lobby where the wifi was perfect. I noticed several people doing just what I did. The lobby is pleasant, has a Starbucks and lots of comfy chairs do I survived. I would return, but don't bother with the wifi (it costs 12.95 a day), it is worthless.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are large and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnetonkamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Minnetonkamom,
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We are sorry the internet in your room was not working properly, we are grateful you brought this to our attention so we can resolve it. We look forward to having you again.
Kind regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

You can't beat the location of the Westin Michigan Ave- it is located at the base of the Hancock building and within walking distance to great shops! However, we found the hotel to be lacking in updates and the halls and room had an "old" feel. The bathroom was a little dingy and our vent/fan didn't work. Worse were the thin walls- our neighbors had quite a conversation about this season's Dancing with the Stars at 3 am- and it's hard to complain- they weren't shouting, just having a normal conversation. For the price, there are a lot of nicer hotels in the city with more modern updates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniCoopMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear MiniCoopMI,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your view and are taking this in much consideration. We hope you were able to have a revitalizing and comfortable stay with us and that you will consider coming back.
Warm regards,
Laruen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,448 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
4,551 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing