We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #53 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at The Westin for a conference. It is a great location, right on Michigan Ave. across from the John Hancock Building. Shopping and dining are easily accessible, as well as the L Train. Overall, great stay and reception/cleaning were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Robyn G,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    680
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
540
515
119
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We love the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago; it is our favorite hotel in Chicago. Over the past 10 years, we occasionally try other places, but always come back to this one. The location is amazing, the heavenly beds - well heavenly, the lobby is wonderful, and the staff very responsive to whatever we need. Best of all, it feels like home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi rmartha,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for your loyalty to our hotel. We appreciate the recognition and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Westin Michigan Avenue is absolutely charming! The welcome at the front desk set the mood. They're happy to see us. We were two moms with teen agers who wanted to see the holiday lights and the sights. We were looking for a little shopping, for good Chicago pizza (Spacca Milano) a great view (Signature Room) and then "Home" to a welcoming staff, two rooms looking down on Michigan Ave.. We finished with a late nite treat from Cheesecake Factory (just steps from our hotel). We had a great nights rest, then off to the McDonalds holiday parade. Topping off our two days, leaving we received a GREAT picture take from Tommy, a goodwill ambassador if I ever saw one. (Posted pic.)Thanks Westin staff for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Jack461,

Thank you for the kind comments! We really appreciate your mention of Tommy, and we have already shared your review with him and the res tof our team. Thank you for taking the time to write about yoru experience. we hope to welcome you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I am Platinun Starwoods member and stay at this property several times a year for business and pleasure and it never disappoints. There are several other good Starwood options in the Chicago, but this location of the Westin is great. The property has two buildings and I generally prefer the newer high rise building. Rooms are well appointed and Starwood prefered floors have all been refresfed recently. Internet cables and or WIFI always fuction well and room service is really top notch (speed, variety and food quality). The fitness room at this property is not great but sufficiently plentiful to get a good workout (free weighs, cardio machines, mats, etc). The most impresive things I can say is that I can always expect a very solid consistantlygood experience. Considering the location and price point, I am always happy to go back every trip I have to Chicago.

Room Tip: Newer buliding, high room with lake view are always nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lor622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Lor622!

Thank you for the delightful comments! We appreciate your Platinum loyalty and that you continue to return to our location. We look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This is the most ideally located hotel we've ever stayed in while doing "The Mile". Besides that the service was great, it was extremely quiet and we got in on a really low pre-Thanksgiving rate which included internet and parking. We also enjoyed about an inch of fresh snow, holiday lights and a great stay overall. We will gladly stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Sharon H!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and all of the holiday festivities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were a group of 5 in three rooms in for the weekend. Everything from reception to checkout was pleasant, efficient and executed with a smile. The rooms were clean and fresh. The location is superb, right off Michigan Avenue and walking distance to almost everything. Great shopping nearby, easy stroll to the harbour for a river tour. Any minor deficiencies or problems were resolved quickly and with a smile. The staff were helpful to a fault. Kudos.

Room Tip: Better room seemed to come with membership in the Westin awards program
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi drbob_inTO!

Thank you for the lovely comments on your recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize our staff, location, and comfort of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is perfectly situated for shopping the north Michigan Avenue shopping district a.k.a. the Magnificent Mile. It is on the north end of the Mag-Mile, directly across the street from the John Hancock building. The building is “older” so the rooms feel a little small and the bathrooms are functional, not elegant. The towel racks are over the tub so be careful with the hand-held shower. The exterior windows are aluminum-mullioned and there is a cold draft coming off them during the cold Chicago fall and winter.
The staff is very friendly and efficient, the rooms clean, and the beds are comfortable.
This hotel is an excellent choice if staying over for the Air and Water show in the summer or the Magnificent Mile Lights Festival in late fall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Joe O,

Thank you for the helpful comments to help us improve for the future. We apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations, but we are glad that you enjoyed our great location. We hope to welcome you back again to an improved hotel.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,226 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing