We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a meeting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #56 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a meeting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our organization held a meeting for 10 people from around the Midwest at this property. The meeting room accommodations were simply tremendous. The staff members that checked us in to the Westin were outstanding as well as those who helped us with the meeting space. And to say this hotel is in a great location would be an understatement. I have stayed at this Westin several times but I have a new appreciation for the facility after hosting a meeting on site. I highly recommend this hotel for meetings such as the one we held. Our group was unanimous that we should return to this site next year if possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Hi Marty H,

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are so excited to know that you have enjoyed your recent meeting with us, and we can't wait to have your group back in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    672
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
533
511
117
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this hotel. The room is big, the people at the reception very helpful and nice. The gym is good with lots of dreadmills and eclipse trainer. Just the weight lifting area is quiet small. However, the hotel is nicely located close to shopping areas. Really liked it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hi Kerstin L,

Thank you for the kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we're glad you enjoyed our Westin Workout. We hope to have you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our first time to Chicago, we only stayed for a night. The location was great - near lots of shopping, lots of dining. Seemed close to the Lake too, though it was a little too cold for us to enjoy that part, but outside of winter I would imagine that would be another bonus. This Westin is not the newest/nicest Westin I've ever stayed in, but it was clean, staff was good.

Room Tip: Higher floors are great for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_C_B_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Lee_C_B_TO,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back when it's warmer (to enjoy the lake)!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. Yvonne at the front desk was very friendly and helped accommodate my family on to one floor. Thanks Yvonne!!. Friendly staff. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. The only problem I had was that I could hear the people in the next room talking and entering/exiting their room and anyone talking in the hall echoed into room. It was frustrating trying to sleep and the people in the next room came in at midnight, decided to shower and blow dry their hair for 30 minutes.
Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was so so. I probably would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Jeff A,

Thank you for the lovely comments. We have already shared your comments with Yvonne and she was delighted to read them! We look forward to having you back again in the future.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here beginning of December as a platinum member. The check in line was very long as only two people were at check in, one was for Starwood preferred guest-we waited 15 minutes. I finally asked about it and 4 more ppl came out. It was nice the listened but where were they while the line was so long. Our hotel room,w e paid extra for a nicer room and it was awful! Run down, bathroom like an old holiday inn, and it was so loud. We thought we were sharing a room with the people next to us. I called security three times, by 1:30am I was so annoyed. I felt like if I just blew out a deep breath the walls would fall in.

Room Tip: Maybe make sure your room is not a connecting room and do not pay extra for a nicer room...not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Tmaiden,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you've faced while with us, and we have already followed up with our front desk staff to pay closer attention to staffing on busy days. We also apologize for the noisy room you had and if you return we will do all that we can to ensure that you have a much more relaxing visit.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just completed a business stay at the Westin Michigan Ave. The location was great and easy to get to shops and restaurants. The room was comfortable and the bed was very nice. The issue is with housekeeping. Checked in on a Saturday to fine sticky dirty spots on the tile in the entry way upon check in and a bag of someone's food on the window sill. Housekeeping on Sunday still did not mop, so Monday morning this problem was mentioned to the front desk and they made notes and said it would be taken care of. Monday night the spots were still there, and getting more dirty. checked out Wednesday and left the dirty sticky spots in the entry way for the next customer. Very disappointed that this was never taken care of even after speaking to the front desk. I did not call on Monday night because I was working in the room and did not want to be disturbed by housekeeping and by Tuesday I knew I was leaving so just dropped it. I would stay there again, but disappointed by the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Skachel,

Thank you for the helpful feedback on your recent experience. We apologize that your room was not cleaned properly in the first place and especially that it was not cleaned after your reported it. We have followed up with the housekeeping director to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a three night stay at the Westin. A lot of reviews comment on the great location of this hotel. That is certainly true, but is just one of the benefits of this hotel. I had a few unplanned requests for some meetings we were organizing within the hotel, and the staff were always accommodating.

As you would expect with the Westin, the decor was clean, simple, and inviting. There is a great lobby, and the rooms are clean and spacious.

At nearly $70 per night, parking at the hotel is not cheap. There are some more reasonable garages within a couple of blocks you should consider if driving.

I had a room on the 20th floor and had a great view of Lake Michigan.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi TwoWas,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience and for pointing out our other excellent features besides our location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#74 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing