We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #53 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple but outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Westin Michigan Avenue turned out to be exactly what we were looking for in a downtown hotel. Not opulent (with its associated price tags) but very nice, very clean, quiet, comfortable beds, and a truly outstanding location - near Oak Street Beach, Michigan Avenue shopping, tons of great restaurants, etc. Couldn't have been happier with our choice, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the lakefront if they face east and are on a high enough floor - phenomenal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Jack N,

Thank you for the great comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and we appreciate you taking the time to share the aspects of your stay that you loved. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    683
    370
    159
    104
See reviews for
541
515
119
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room was excellent with the most comfortable bed, great housekeeping, coffee and bottled water in the room, and super friendly staff. The location couldn't be better with shopping, the beach, Sprinkles (the cupcake store) just around the corner (yummy), and the Navy Pier less than a two mile walk if you are into walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Kim P,

Thank you for sharing your Fourth of July weekend experience! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, and we appreciate the great comments about our location and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The rooms aren't huge, but the hotel is clean and the location is great very convenient to shopping and restaurants. I would recommend becoming a Starwoods member to make sure that you get a quiet room because some of the rooms are noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi jersey826,

Thank you for the helpful feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, and we appreciate you sharing your experience as an SPG member. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
701 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Westin Michigan Avenue is the perfect place to stay when on business or as a tourist.
Perfectly located on the magnificent mile and two blocks from the shore, you can walk to most any location. The rooms are very nicely appointed, clean and up to date. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful.
Enjoy the heavenly bed and amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on the Starwood Preferred floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi RMGTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent feedback. We are truly glad that you enjoy our SPG benefits and our location. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would like to thank the staff of The Westin Michigan Avenue for another great vacation. I have been coming back to this hotel for over 12 years and they always treat my family right. When I checked at reception with Leonard he gave me very warm welcome and made sure everything I requested on the reservation was complete. He always makes my family feel like he is glad we are here. When we had meals in The Grille, Steve was our waiter. He also makes us feel welcome with a smile, kind words, and menu suggestions. When I checked out Leonard was there. He thanked us for our visit and please come back. Both of these gentlemen have been at the Westin for many years and really know how to treat their guests as if this was their place. Why would we go anyplace else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Michael B,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about Leonard and your experience with us. We have shared your comments with our team, and everyone is delighted to see that you continue to feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to your return.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Katherine Anderson, Meeting and Event Manager and the entire event staff were fabulous to work with during our event at the Westin Michigan Ave. Katherine went above and beyond to assist me in various requests before we arrived and was on hand to welcome our group and assist with last minute changes. The rooms and accommodations were clean, well decorated, and offered great views of Lake Michigan. The front desk staff, doormen, and concierge were also fantastic. As well, check-out was seemless and I was emailed an itemized receipt for the event. In addition, the Westin is located on the Magnificent Mile which allowed our guests to enjoy incredible shopping, dining, and site seeing. I've also stayed at this location on numerous occasions for personal trips and have always had an enjoyable stay. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Sherrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi 2014Sherrys,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Katie! We have shared your comments with her, and she is delighted that you have had such a wonderful experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great stay! We had a view of Oak St. Beach that was amazing!!
The beds are great. The staff from the beginning to the end of our stay were extremely helpful and friendly.
A great place to stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room with a view when we arrived. The gentleman that helped us was fantastic. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Jodi W,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share the things you enjoyed. Our staff appreciates your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#75 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing